coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

December 8

on December 8, 2012

Photo challenge: ornaments

IMG_8855

This is one of four little “picture” ornaments that I came into a couple of years ago. For a while there has been some debate in Canada as to whether or not we’re going to phase out the penny (it costs more to make than it’s worth) so I searched for a penny for each of us with our birth year on it – just in case they disappear at some point.

Daily craft: Paper Star

IMG_8854

I saw this idea on Pinterest and followed the link back to here. There are simple directions on how to make this (although, instead of using 6 pieces of paper I used 1 cut into 6 squares. I also used all tape instead of part tape, part staples) it does take a little time though. If I were to make another one of these (or several) I would probably use 2 or 3 pieces of paper to make the sections large enough to roll with ease.

17 days until Christmas!!!

27 days left in the Happy Holidays Photo Challenge

10 responses to “December 8

  1. pamasaurus says:

    I just pinned that and was planning on making it tomorrow!!! I’ll make sure to keep the papers large when I do it. Thanks for the tip 😉

    Also, do I follow you on pinterest? The link to mine is on my ‘contact me’ page, or…. it’s pinterest.com/86thetomato if you’re interested 😉

  2. wildacademicwoman says:

    I love the paper snowflake! We couldn’t afford a tree this year, but maybe we could make these and string them around the room.

    • Have you considered taking the kids out for a “walk” and bringing some gardening shears or tough scissors? If you grab a couple of evergreen branches you could MacGuyver up a small tree in a pot?

      • wildacademicwoman says:

        What a great idea! And we have so many evergreen trees around here, too. I think the snowflakes would be really pretty with some sparkly paper or glitter.

  3. sillyliss says:

    I love the penny birthdate ornaments. So cute.

    • 🙂 Thank you! I find it a real pain to get pictures small enough for those things, so I was trying to think of an alternative when I first heard about the Canadian penny being given the axe! *gulp*

Donate Your Two Cents

