coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

December 6 & 7

on December 7, 2012

Yeah, this happened already. Not even a week into the month and I forgot to post yesterday.

Photo challenge (December 6): shopping

This is ironically what we were doing yesterday, and the main reason that I got so distracted during the day that I forgot to post.PS, the kids have *another* cold.

This is ironically what we were doing yesterday, and the main reason that I got so distracted during the day that I forgot to post.
PS, the kids have *another* cold.
PPS, I don’t buy medicine from the dollar store. I threw this box in there for the picture but we also went to Walmart.

Photo challenge (December 7): bright

At first I was like "Bright? What am I going to do for bright?" And then I decided that I could cheat (why not, I'm doing two days at once here) and use a photo of my finished craft for the day!

At first I was like “Bright? What am I going to do for bright?” And then I decided that I could cheat (why not, I’m doing two days at once here) and use a photo of my finished craft for the day!

My daily which may not be daily anymore, we’ll see craft is: Tissue Paper Jar Candle Holders Woo

This craft is really simple to do…for adults. Ally didn’t like this because she couldn’t control whether or not the tissue paper ripped. She “finished” one and said she was done with the craft.

All I did was cut up tissue paper into small rectangularish pieces and then slather the jar in glue as I used my foam paint brush to smear and dab it everywhere. Seriously, after the jars were completely covered in tissue paper (I chose white with stars and white with sparkles) I squeezed more glue on top and brushed it gently over everything.

There's glue *everywhere*!

There’s glue *everywhere*!

If you want to use battery operated lights then you can put the tissue paper on the inside of the jar for a smoother look. I chose tealight candles – real fire – so I put the tissue paper on the outside to prevent a Holly Jolly Fire in my house. The outside does make the jars look more texture-y though, just so you’re aware.

Texture-y!

Texture-y!

I also chose to put the gold rings back on after. Why not, I say! One trip to the dollar store got me 16 tealight candles and a barbeque lighter because matches or small lighters means lighting the candle and then dropping it in which sounds like suck to me.

Barbeque lighters are longer so the candle can be placed in the jar and THEN lit.

Barbeque lighters are longer so the candle can be placed in the jar and THEN lit.

The absolute best part of this?

After Christmas is over, if we don’t want these anymore I can just soak them in water and wash this stuff off.

***disclaimer: I haven’t tried to wash these off yet. I don’t actually know how effective it will be to soak them and wash them. I’m just assuming that since it’s white glue and tissue paper that it will remove easily***

8 responses to “December 6 & 7

  1. Such cool crafts you come up with! BTW, do you give your girls chewable vitamin C at the first sign of a cold, aka, the sore throat, and every day after? Helps keep it from getting as bad as it could be. And they’re tasty. Keep them off the sugar when they’re sick, too. Sugar makes things worse. And milk makes phlegm. Forgive me if you know all this already. But just in case not, passing it along!

  2. pamasaurus says:

    I second the vitamin C comment above! It definitely helps cut back on the severity and duration of colds. It helps boost your immune system 😉

    Those jar candles are so adorable! I’m super jealous of all your crafts. I’ve been making gifts lately, but not many decorations. I think I only made two decorations so far!

    • Gifts do take priority. After all, they double as decorations for under your tree! The jars were a little time consuming (it took me about 90 minutes to do 6) but if you could rope Trinity into helping you or making her own then you could halve the time. 😀 Thanks for the review for the vitamin C as well, it will help me fork over the money for it!

Donate Your Two Cents

