coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

December 3

on December 3, 2012

The photo challenge: red

This is “red” from today, and a sneak peek at today’s craft. Full craft details tomorrow!

IMG_8819

And for my daily craft I present: reused crayon gifts!

I gathered some old broken crayons bits in two colours – red and green, it’s Christmas! – and melted them down, then poured them into this silly pig pan we have to make pig shaped crayons! I did this craft all on my own, so shhhhh, don’t tell the kids because I’ve wrapped them in tissue paper for a bit of a present at Christmas.

Instead of baking them in the oven, I created a “double boiler” effect by melting the crayon pieces in old pop cans which were placed in boiling water on the stove.

IMG_8815

The other cans are to prevent the wax filled can from tipping over as the bubbles fill the air pocket under the can and then bloop out. Bloop is a technical word. One pinched pour spout and a wooden stir stick later and I could pour one colour into the pig pan (which I forgot to take a picture of…oops) and then place the pan in the freezer for 5-10 minutes to make an instant crayon. Once frozen, the new crayons pop out extremely easily and then the pan can be used for the next colour.

IMG_8816

That’s the green pig crayon.

I think the kids will like them, and my favourite part is that I don’t have to pick up one billion tiny crayon bits every time they colour now! I’ve also seen this suggested with those shaped ice cube trays if you own some of those. Little stars, candy canes, snowmen, etc. would make adorable Christmas crayons for no cost.

22 days until Christmas!!!

2 responses to “December 3

  1. pamasaurus says:

    Those are super adorable!

Donate Your Two Cents

