coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Handprint Reindeer

on November 8, 2012

I was inspired today! (Finally, I know)

I was browsing my emails, trying to catch up on some reading, when I came across Handprint Spiders at Mama.Papa.Bubba. Her craft was so adorable and awesome that I instantly wanted to do it too, the only problem? Halloween has passed and I didn’t want to make more Halloween decorations to litter my walls for the next eternity until the masking tape cheaps out and they finally fall off.

*cough*

I decided to make Handprint Reindeer and Christmas Cards for a niiiiiiiice, coffeepowered, early start to Christmas.

First, assemble your materials! I picked a nice red background (because it’s Christmas) and white paint for snowflakes.

Cover your work space with extra paper to save your table from paint.

Paint tiny fingers with white paint and allow your kidlets to make fingerprint snowflakes alllllll over.

Wash tiny fingers.

Next, I chose a pink background – for no reason – and we proceeded to make blue reindeer. Why blue? I have no black or brown paint (this is the first time we’ve painted together…..ever…..unless you count those little fridge magnets a while back) so the reindeer colour options were: blue, green, purple, red or yellow. Ally picked blue.

Paint the palm, forefinger and pinky of your children’s hand.

Smush. Repeat.

We cut our red backgrounds into four even pieces to make cards,

and then cut green wavy construction paper (it is Christmas after all) in halves to make the outsides of the cards.

Each child glued one piece of their snowflake background onto one of the in-sides……I need more coffee…… Lay flat to dry.

Once the reindeer were dry we cut them out and drew two eyes, a mouth and antler sticks on our reindeer. If I were to do this again, I would probably instead paint one of their fingers and let them make their antler branches that way. You live, you learn.

We then painted red onto little thumbs and smushed thumbprint, red noses onto our reindeer.

I wrote our message, “Merry Christmas” on the front, “Love: Ally” on Ally’s snowflake background and “and Kira” on Kira’s snowflake background.

I then cut a wavy design around the outside of each card to soften up the harsh edges made by gluing two pieces of construction paper together.

We then glued our reindeer onto their respective snowflake background.

Add Christmas stickers and VOILA! Adorable card for each set of grandparents.

12 responses to “Handprint Reindeer

  1. So cute, and so elaborate. I wouldn’t have the patience for all those steps, so way to go!

  2. pamasaurus says:

    Those are so adorable!! Great job!

  3. jkossowan says:

    Sooooo adorable! I LOVE your spin on the activity. I’ll definitely be doing this with Gracen. πŸ™‚

  4. Totally stealing this idea for Christmas. Thanks!

  5. […] you, like me, enjoy stealing other people’s awesome ideas, CPM is a great resource! Β This is one I’ve got great plans […]

Donate Your Two Cents

