coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Day 4

on October 27, 2012

Pretend this was posted 12 hours ago. Pinky swear I haven’t done any work on the tree skirt over night.

I am now up to 16 rows (6 white and 10 red) which (does math…….) means that I have dropped 39/400 stitches. Having tied small markers on the 100, 200, and 300th stitch has given me the small ‘accomplishments’ that I so need to complete large projects. Instead of having to stitch 361 stitched to complete the next row, I will only need to stitch approximately 90 stitches to the first marker so I can drop, or ‘merge’, a stitch. Win.

I ran into my first brain bender. I realized that as I merge stitch I need to be careful that I am not always taking from a certain side since that would eventually eliminate that section of tree skirt. Imagine, if you will, that you are taking two stitches and consistently turning them into one. If you always take the stitch that was created by the last merge and the one to its right then eventually you will use up the stitches on the right side of the “merge line”. (I just made that term up, but it’s almost like a small seam in the tree skirt if you look closely) So now, I must concentrate on swapping which side of the merged stitch I choose to use to create the new merge each time to ensure that my three merge lines ascend the tree skirt evenly.

*phew*

That’s intense.

Approximately 100 rows until merge cessation and the beginning of the neck. No pictures today.

One response to “Day 4

Donate Your Two Cents

