coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

My Will to….Have One

on October 24, 2012

That title confused me a bit.

Here’s the nitty gritty. I’m poor. Duh.

I want a will. Like the type of thing that legally handles my business after I die. But wills cost money. Money which I do not have at this point. Give me about two years and I should be able to afford it by myself, but that’s TWO WHOLE YEARS from now! Sheesh, do you think I’m going to last forever?

In all seriousness, I was wondering if you guys thought that a will might be too….dark….of a gift request for a certain merry holiday this year? It would bring me a lot of peace of mind, and there are certain things regarding my children that would NOT be taken care of in my untimely demise otherwise.

Comments?

6 responses to “My Will to….Have One

  1. sillyliss says:

    I don’t think it’s too dark of a gift…but aren’t there free wills you can find on line and then just get notarized?

  2. It’s a little morbid considering the happiness that Christ’s birth brings/brought. But I would much rather give/get a gift that is wanted and thoughful rather than something that will be tossed in a closet or regifted. To each is own, ask for a will.

  3. mandyholbert says:

    Of course it’s not a bad gift to ask for – it’s sensible.

  4. Nina says:

    Hey, it’s what you want 🙂 I’m a slacker though and haven’t formally drafted a will, but yes I do hear that you can obtain one for free…?

Donate Your Two Cents

