coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Day 2

on October 24, 2012

6 rows of white completed. I’m almost at the end of my third row of red (because cool kids put a white snowfall-y border on the bottom of their all red tree skirt) which totals 9! Yay, math!

This is what it looks like so far:

It seems like a good time to pause the skirt and try my hand at making a snowflake. I guess I just wanted to know if it was a possibility before I got all excited about making them and finding out I can’t.

First attempt:

Yeah, it was terrible. Okay! Back to the drawing board for my second attempt:

Also terrible, and apparently my photography is also questionable for this snowflake. *cough* Third attempt!

*wawawaaaaaaa*

Annnnnnnd upon undoing this creation I managed (a near impossibility in crocheting in my opinion) to KNOT it!

Winner! Gagnon! Time to retreat to the internet. After a quick Google search I stumbled upon this lovely site and decided to give her a go. My first attempt was a little sad, but after starting on the first chain link instead of the third I nailed it.

So I now have one finished snowflake. I’m going to keep working on the skirt and then look at the snowflake again later. In the words of Ally, “It looks like a flower. Snowflakes are supposed to be pointy. I guess it could be a snowflake though. Yeah, I like it. Can I hold it?”

Good day all!

9 responses to “Day 2

  1. pamasaurus says:

    I can’t wait to see how it looks when it’s finished! I have always wanted to learn to crochet, but I haven’t taken the time. I knit, but not well 😉

  2. sillyliss says:

    You have some madd skillz there. I am slowly learning how to knit on a little round loomy thingy. I call it a loomy thingy, because that is obviously its correct name. I am also, by the way, awesome at it. I have only had to rip my project apart twice so far, plus it took me a mere 20 minutes to understand how to make a slipknot. Which I no longer remember how to do.

    Knitting also gives me a shoulder/arm cramp. Is this normal, or am I just even more awesome at knitting than I think I am? 🙂

  3. Aunt Jodi says:

    LOVE!!!!! When you’re done making yours, you could make one for me if you wanted 😉

Donate Your Two Cents

