coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Day 1

on October 23, 2012

After finally finishing the massive blanket I’ve been working on for about a year, it was time for a new crocheting project. We dropped Ally off at school this morning and I was quick to head to Walmart and buy more wool. 3 balls of red, and 1 ball of white later; I was back at home beginning my newest project. 400 stitches long, the chain took almost no time. With a little foresight I was able to tie a small piece of brown thread on the 100th, 200th, and 300th stitch as markers. My first row of white was complete, 400 stitches. The second row, I merged two stitches into one…a little trick I picked up by leafing (without purchasing) through a crocheting book at the store….totaling 399 stitches in the second row. Row three contained two merges at the 100 and 300 stitch mark. Total: 397. Row four is nearly complete as I type this, it will have three merges at the 100, 200, and 300 mark; containing 394 stitches upon its completion.

My intended project? A long, tapering tree skirt for our Christmas tree this year. Days until Christmas? 63 (but who’s counting?). I would like to have this finished by about December 15th so it can don our tree base when the tree comes, and decorate our living room for the rest of the holiday. I also intend to attempt small white circles (snowflakes) that can be sewn on the finished skirt.

Luckily, Phil is at school late tonight, so I will be watching a romantic movie whilst working away at my project.

Any plans of your own?

10 responses to “Day 1

  1. sillyliss says:

    Wow, that sounds cool!!

  2. Good for you! And, alas, my husband is not away enough for me to get any romantic movie time in. Have fun!

  3. I am impressed! I like to knit, but I don’t know how to crochet. You must post pictures of the finished product! πŸ™‚

  4. Please, I beg of you, post photos! I am a craft reject. I can’t do anything – except eat. Would love to see what you’ve accomplished!

Donate Your Two Cents

