coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Secrets Begin

on August 21, 2012

My brother and I were really close when we were growing up. Even into early adulthood I would amaze myself by soliciting advice from my little brother. We could talk about anything and it was amazing.

When I had my girls I knew that they would squabble as all siblings do, but I hoped more than hope itself that they would form a close bond with each other that moved beyond friendship into the world of no judgements and honesty.

They’re a little bit young for all that, but they do like to look out for each other. For example: right now.

Ally ate all of her Cheerios from breakfast and was still hungry. I caught her eyeing up the Mini Wheats and while she was trying to sound the letters out to read the box Kira grabbed a towel from the kitchen and cleaned up some of her spilled milk.

Kira hadn’t quite finished her Shreddies but she was more than intrigued by this new wheat-y cereal. She asked Ally for a piece and Ally obliged, and then told me about it.

Five minutes later I hear Kira quietly ask Ally for another piece…please.

Ally responds with a whisper “Okay, but this is the last one, okay?”

“Okay. Thank you.”

Sneaks! Hahaha! They aren’t supposed to have more food until they finish what they have, but if they want to be sneaky and pass around the Mini Wheats one at a time, then I’m okay with it. I’m okay with them bending those rules because I think it is heart warming to see them looking out for each other.

I’ve lost my train of thought now, I have. I need to finish this first cup of coffee. Sheesh.

7 responses to “The Secrets Begin

  1. Really cute. I love it when my girls do stuff like that too. It’s so sweet.

  2. wildacademicwoman says:

    What a great story. I love it when they are nice to each other like that (I have a girl and a boy).

  3. myhonestself says:

    My daughter (the elder sibling) can be very manipulative and take advantage of her little brother BUT every once in awhile I see/hear her helping him, coaching him, or teaching him something and it definitely melts my heart! We’ve been talking a lot in my house about the whole ‘putting other first’ concept and they’ve struggled to grasp it. The other day there was only one mini cinnamon bun left in the cupboard and my little dude announced that he was going to put his sister first and he handed it to her. I nearly cried! Sibling relationships are like no other!!

  4. My kids are 4-1/2 and 5-1/2 years apart, and the big advantage is they don’t have a lot of sibling rivalry. But my 3 siblings and I were only a year apart and we nearly killed each other. You must love it when your kids are sweet to each other. I would have bent the rules at breakfast too.

  5. Nina says:

    How cute! She was totally being the mom too, with bending the rules just this one time.

    • Yeah, she really likes to take a mom-role over her sister. Some times I need to step in to ensure that she’s not being bossy or doing my job, hahaha, but for the most part it’s cute.

Donate Your Two Cents

