coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Aveeno Eczema Care Cream – Review

on August 12, 2012

You may remember me complaining about my eczema. It sucks.

My eczema got so bad a couple of weeks ago that I had to wrap my fingers separately in napkins to prevent them from sticking and trying to heal to each other. Ew.

Do you have any idea how hard it is to try to take a picture of your own hand? Especially since the worst of my eczema was on the palmar side of my ring finger, towards my pinky. Go ahead. Hold up your right hand. Now turn it so you’re facing the palm. Now turn it even more so you can see the pinky side of your ring finger. Now imagine trying to hold a camera in your left (non-dominant) hand and focus on that spot on your ring finger. Yeah. You see now.

This is a picture that I asked Ally to take for me.

That was a couple of days before it got really bad and you still can’t see the puss and blood there! Sheesh!

Around August…3? My ring finger flared up so badly that I had to break out my medical pack and gauze my finger from first knuckle to webbing. I couldn’t bend it at all, and it stung when I looked at water funny. That weekend I went to Aunt Jodi’s cottage and met the wonderful woman that is her sister.

Aunt Jodi’s sister “came out of the womb” covered in eczema. As such, she has had more than two decades to trial and error products for her eczema. The very first thing she said to me? Had I tired Aveeno.

She got her bottle of Aveeno Eczema Care Cream out, placed it on the table, and proceeded to remind me six or seven times a day to put it on. Within 12 hours my finger had stopped bleeding. Within 24 hours it had stopped pussing. And this includes our many forays swimming in the lake and showering off for family dinner.

This angel of a woman then squeezed some cream into a ziploc bag for me to take home since that Monday was a holiday and I wouldn’t be able to buy any of my own right away. On Tuesday I went out and bought the same bottle.

166mL for $11. Worth. Every. Freaking. Penny.

On the 9th we went to Wonderland and it rained and we played in the water park and my ring finger cracked in two places and my pinky cracked in one place. I slathered it in cream when we got home and I have full motion in my fingers again. It’s been a long time since my ring finger could curl up and touch my palm at all, let alone without pain.

My fingers are starting to look like fingers again. Real, live, fingers. It’s amazing.

I would more than highly recommend this. More than underwear. If you have eczema and you have to choose between this cream and underwear, I would recommend the cream. It’s amazing. I will sing Aveeno’s praises from the highest rooftop.

This is the best product I have ever used. Ever.

Am I getting compensated for this? Nope. Not at all. I am just so AMAZED with the relief that this cream has given me. This is a product that genuinely works. I can BEND my fingers again! They aren’t bleeding or pussing! AT ALL!!!

The proof is in the bottle.

7 responses to “Aveeno Eczema Care Cream – Review

  1. myhonestself says:

    I’ve never had to battle eczema BUT now at least I know if it comes up, scrap the undies and get the cream! Got it, thanks for the info (and the chuckle!) So glad your feeling better!!!

  2. Yay! I told you the Aveena Baby lotion became my new best friend after my eczema outbreak after the birth of my second babe. It’s still by my bed today, 9 yrs later!! – so glad you found your remedy. πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, I’m just really really cheap and I didn’t want to buy an entire bottle of something that may not work. What really sold me what her letting me use it (a trial if you will) and seeing how effective it was! It made me want to run out and take out a line of credit’s worth of cream.

  3. sillyliss says:

    I haven’t tried that one, but the Aveeno products are so great. I use tons of them. Yay for oatmeal!

  4. Mariah LA says:

    I used to use Aveeno, but i found something WAY better. They make both lotions and shampoos that are all natural and organic – and its better priced. Its called Made from Earth, and my mother (who is 65 but doesnt look a day over 39 cause she uses their firming serum). I started using the Firming Serum as well, and wow – major difference. I also tried their shampoo which leaves your hair feeling fresh, clean and manageable. Not only is the smell amazing, the smell lasts for several hours as well, but it leaves hair soft and easy to style.

Donate Your Two Cents

