coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Grocery Bill – Week Five

on August 11, 2012

I’m behind. But not dead. And if I ever quit blogging forever then I would write a farewell post….so I’ve just been busy and lazy.

Week Five Groceries

  • 2 bags of 1% milk
  • 2 bags of 2% milk
  • 18 eggs
  • 2.07 kgs of oranges

TOTAL: $27.10

The grocery budget this week (for the remainder of July) was $24.38, which means I went over budget $2.72 this month. That was a little disappointing a couple of weeks ago, but to be honest, I don’t really care. Less than three dollars is not a big deal for me. I’m lenient, what can I say.

For the month of August we will have a large shop on Week One, then a supplementary milk and apples shop for Week Two, a medium to large shop for Week Three, and a final supplementary milk and apples shop for Week Four. I think that this will allow us to stick to our budget more closely without feeling terribly restricted and hungry.

Sloppy Joes

A couple of weeks ago we had Manwich brand sloppy joes and they were mildly tasty, unfortunately my sloppy joe cravings had not disappeared with that one can of man but Phil pointed out that we could probably make it. Better.

Ka-chow! He was right!

This was really easy and tasty, and I will never be buying Manwich again. Sorry dudes.

First, brown one pound of ground beef. After the meat is fully cooked, add one chopped onion, two stalks of chopped celery and one chopped green pepper. Cook that all around for two or three minutes and then add half of a can of tomato sauce. I then added 1/2 cup of barbeque sauce and 1 tbsp of soy sauce. Sprinkle with garlic powder and chili powder and simmer until ‘sauce’ becomes chunky.

Serve on hamburger buns. Sloppily. Nom.

Stay tuned for more posts. I’m tryinnnnnnnnnnnggggggggg!!!!

6 responses to “The Grocery Bill – Week Five

  1. myhonestself says:

    MMmmmmm the added BBQ & soy sauce would be fantastic – nice touch!!! How do the kids manage with them? Mine don’t eat them much because of the mess which boggles my mind, i thought kids liked the mess???!!! That’s the appeal for me!!! Thanks for the recipe idea!

    • Ally eats it as she should (she used to have major issues with hating foods that fell apart though, we have to tell her it’s supposed to fall apart) and Kira picks it to pieces and only eats the insides.

  2. pamasaurus says:

    I love sloppy joes! I found a recipe online once that used a can of cream of mushroom mixed with a little tomato paste as the sauce. It sounds weird, but it’s our favorite… well, I bump it up with some spices and such, but you get the idea 😉

  3. I’m glad you’re giving yourself a break by going over by budget by just $2.72. That’s an amazing feat! I usually find that much just while doing the laundry.

Donate Your Two Cents

