coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Grocery Bill – Week Three and Four

on July 26, 2012

This is what happens when you have a birthday party planned the same week as your grocery shop. Plus, no one really wants to go shopping four times a month when they have little ones running around. I think that for August I may only go shopping two times…hmm…

Week Three and Four Groceries

  • green onions
  • celery
  • broccoli
  • bananas
  • 2 cans of tomato sauce
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 3 bags of pasta
  • 7 boxes of cereal
  • cauliflower
  • snap peas
  • 3 green peppers
  • one bag of sugar
  • 3 lbs of apples
  • one bag of frozen corn
  • one bag of onions
  • 365 grams of mushrooms
  • 410 grams of brussel sprouts
  • one bag of 1% milk
  • one bag of 2% milk
  • boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 10 kg bag of flour

TOTAL: $84.90

The remaining budget for the month of July was $109.28. I now have $24.38 left which will be used to purchase more milk in the upcoming days. And probably apples. Mmmm. Apples.

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

I love scalloped potatoes, and it wasn’t until about year ago that I discovered how simple they are to make. You’re going to need about six potatoes, skinned. Then you need to slice them niiiiiiiice and thin. If I had a mandolin, I would use it here. I don’t, so I just have to slice thinly with my knife. I’ve included the pipe cleaner here to give you a rough idea of the size of slices you are aiming for.

Helpful, no? As part of your prep you are going to want to shred some cheese, get out some flour and a small sieve.

Place some potato slices in a single layer on the bottom of a Pyrex casserole dish.

Grab your sieve with flour in it…

…and sprinkle it evenly over the potato layer.

Hee hee, it’s snowing!

After your flour is on (I only use a sieve to encourage even distribution with no lumps – it’s not mandatory) you need to sprinkle on a layer of shredded cheese.

Then another layer of potatoes, more flour, more cheese; over and over again until you have used up all of your potatoes. Put a generous amount of cheese on top and then gently pour 1/2 cup of milk around the edges.

Cover this baby in tinfoil and put it in the oven at 400F for 80 minutes. Or, 450F for one hour…

When you poke the potatoes with a fork and they are soft – they’re done.

Serve, burn face, enjoy!

Nomnomnomnomnomnom. These are a big hit in my house! I just have to make sure I cook them for long enough, there have been a couple of times we’ve had ye olde crunchy potatoes and they’re a little disappointing.

These are really versatile too! Throw in some garlic! Maybe some chives! Onions! Mushrooms! Be creative! Let me know how it goes! Use exclamation points excessively!!! Because you can!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8 responses to “The Grocery Bill – Week Three and Four

  1. pamasaurus says:

    Those look delicious, and super easy! I make potatoes like that, but I make an actual cheese sauce and pour it over the potatoes. I’ll definitely going to have to try it your way πŸ˜€

  2. myhonestself says:

    Grocery shopping only twice in a whole month??!! Wow, I couldn’t do it! I go once a week and sometimes a second time if we’ve forgotten something!

    As for the potatoes, I like to add in some ham & veggies and it becomes an entire meal in one dish!!

  3. Oster's Mom says:

    Yum! I do hope that my little guy’s dairy allergy goes away soon! The doc said he may outgrow it by the age of 2! I miss my cheese πŸ™‚

    • Oooh, I love cheese. I was so little when I was diagnosed with lactose intolerance, but as I got older I could make conscious decisions to live with the…side effects…of eating cheesy deliciousness!
      It did help with building up my tolerance though…

  4. jkossowan says:

    Looks delish! I haven’t made scalloped potatoes in years, but you just may have convinced me to do so! πŸ™‚

Donate Your Two Cents

