coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Mom Pledge

on July 25, 2012

I am proud to be a mom. I will conduct myself with integrity in all my online activities. I can lead by example.

I pledge to treat my fellow moms with respect. I will acknowledge that there is no one, “right” way to be a good mom. Each woman makes the choices best for her family.

I believe a healthy dialogue on important issues is a good thing. I will welcome differing opinions when offered in a respectful, non-judgmental manner. And will treat those who do so in kind.

I stand up against cyber bullying. My online space reflects who I am and what I believe in. I will not tolerate comments that are defamatory, hateful or threatening.

I refuse to give those who attack a platform. I will remove their remarks with no mention or response. I can take control.

I want to see moms work together to build one another up, not tear each other down. Words can be used as weapons. I will not engage in that behavior.

I affirm that we are a community. As a member, I will strive to foster goodwill among moms. Together, we can make a difference.

 

I am tired of trying to explain my choices to other people because I am afraid that they are judging me. And I am tired of making excuses for other people because I am afraid that they may think I am judging them. I want to do what is best for my children because I love them. If you can say the same thing about your children then we are all doing just fine.

Thank you for being a loving, thoughtful parent to your children.

Want to take the pledge?

12 responses to “The Mom Pledge

  1. Nina says:

    It’s good to hear such a positive attitude!

  2. pamasaurus says:

    Was someone criticizing you, or did you just come across this pledge? It’s amazing, though. I hate when people get judgmental. Not everyone has the same beliefs.

    • I just came across this pledge. I do often feel criticized though. Or feel like I’m tiptoeing around other parents. For example, my next door neighbour was offering us some sugary kids cereal (ie. Nesquik) and we don’t eat that kind of cereal here. No matter how I phrased it, it always seemed like I was saying that my kids weren’t going to eat the same garbage that they were feeding their grandkids. Sigh. I NEVER meant it like that, obviously. Everyone does what they feel is best, or enjoyable, but it’s not the same decision that we made. It’s awkward.

      • pamasaurus says:

        I totally understand where you’re coming from. I feel like people judge for basically everything, and it’s annoying.

        Like my post about the evil girl trying to tear me down? Besides everything else she said that was ugh, she said that I’m lazy and stupid because I stay home with my 12 year old. I know she’s old enough that I could get a job, but my husband works crazy hours. We’ve tried, and it’s better this way. I don’t feel like I should have to explain that.

        • Exactly. I don’t think it’s anyone’s business really. I’ve been looking at doing some schooling online now, but I’m going to do it really reallllllly slowly because I want to be able to focus on my kids all the time. More or less it will take me ten years and there are *people* who are going to have a problem with this. Sigh. You can never please everyone though. Make yourself and your family happy and to hell with everyone else. 😀
          I think that your daughter will appreciate being able to come to you any time she needs you, rather than having to compete with your job for attention. I missed out on that with my mom, so that’s what I want for my kids. My time and attention.

  3. Ugh! Why are women so freakin’ hard on each other!!?? Thank you for the post – and I completely agree. Don’t let the bastards get you down – as my hubby would say.

  4. Kathy V. says:

    Well done! If we can all be certain that we won’t be judging one another, we can be more honest and productive. F*ck the haters.

  5. jkossowan says:

    I totally agree! Luckily I haven’t felt judged on the content of my blog (yet – and hopefully you don’t either!), but there definitely is mompetition lurking wherever mamas and babes are found… The one I sometimes find hard to defend is why G doesn’t eat refined sugar and junk foods… I don’t feel like I should have to explain that really. It’s just what I think is best for MY kid. Us mamas need to stick together and support one another – it’s so much more fun that way!

  6. natdriosm6 says:

    Reblogged this on Nat Rios Page.

Donate Your Two Cents

