coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Groupon Experience

on July 21, 2012

I tried Groupon.

I went to their site http://www.groupon.com and I looked around for a while and then I decided to sign up. For free. Because what did I have to lose?

Nothing.

AND I am winning.

Extra super winning.

My very first Groupon purchase was for prescription eyeglasses. That’s right. You heard me. And the deal was epic.

Groupon was offering $150 worth of prescription lenses and frames for $19. What’s the catch? I wondered. There was no way in heck that I was going to pay only $19 and get $150 worth of credit at this store (Optical 8 Thirty) for glasses. Maybe I had to buy a pair first? Pay for an eye exam? I read every ‘fine print’ type thing I could find and there was nothing. So I thought I’d try it. The kids had broken my glasses five or six months ago, and I have been wearing an older pair with a different prescription in it since then. I figured that $19 wasn’t too much of a gamble to take for possibly getting new glasses with the correct prescription in them; I had, after all, just booked an eye exam with my optometrist ($115) which I would then have to pay for new glasses on top of that ($200-$400).

What did I have to lose?

Nothing.

ON TOP of that, when I went to ‘check out’ and pay for my Groupon, I remembered that I had $10 in Groupon bucks so it only cost my $9!

I was ecstatic. $9.

Wooooooooooooo!

It was super simple too! All I had to do after I paid was print the voucher out. It had a barcode on it, so that it could only be used one time I assume, and when I handed it to an employee there they didn’t even bat an eye. Amazing!

We went to the store and they were able to take my broken glasses and determine the prescription from them so there was no need for a new eye exam. I then looked at all of the cheapest frames available, had a mini panic attack about having to make choices, gathered my back-up and asked Phil for help, picked new frames and placed my order.

This week we went to the zoo and stopped to pick up my new glasses along the way. I had picked the frames ($98) and ordered my lenses with transitions ($60) because that’s how I like my glasses – no sunglasses required – any applied my $150 credit. Anyone up for some math?

What is $98 + $60 -$150?

$8

Now what is $8 + the $9 I originally paid for the Groupon?

$17

I paid $17 total for brand new frames and prescription lenses with transitions.

 

Am I the only one whose jaw dropped?

I love Groupon!

LOVE!

And I’d highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t tried it yet. It’s the bomb, and you’re not obliged to do anything. You just get to surf for awesome deals and then buy them if you want them.

Also, if I refer friends: http://www.groupon.com/r/uu44391468 then I get a $10 Groupon credit that I can then use towards more things, like that photo shoot for only $35 so we can finally get family pictures done.

So click it. Sign up. Buy something. Love deals.

http://www.groupon.com/r/uu44391468

Bam! There it is again.

It’s also in my twitter feed ————–>

Yeah, I had to get twitter or facebook to join Pinterest and twitter didn’t need my phone number.

Shazam!

11 responses to “The Groupon Experience

  1. kebibarra says:

    Winning!!!!! Go head sista! I’ve been hearing alot about it, but never really gave it a chance. I think I will.

  2. jkossowan says:

    You should sign up for Living Social and Wonton too. Same drill, more deals. We’ve bought everything from christmas trees to car services to hair treatments to baseball tickets to pedicures on all three! The only catch we’ve ever come across is that we often have to pay the tax at the store, but that’s always stated in the fine print. 🙂

  3. sillyliss says:

    It seems like where I live we have something else, similar, but called Savecoin.

  4. pamasaurus says:

    I love groupon! That’s an awesome deal you got!!

    I second the Living Social that was mentioned above… but now I have to check out Wonton 😀

  5. Kim says:

    I think I’m gonna have to check them out… I’ll use your link when I get home

  6. Admittedly, that’s freakin’ awesome!

  7. Melanie B. says:

    WOW. That is an awesome deal. When I was reading your post i kept waiting for the part where you had to spend another $100 to get the “deal.” Really, really great deal!!!

    • I was SO nervous about it, figuring that I would have to EVENTUALLY spend more money to get the glasses. But I didn’t! There wasn’t any processing fee, mandatory eye exam, new client registration fee…NOTHING! An amazing deal.

  8. I wish we had stuff around here that would do that. We looked at Groupon but most of the offers are based in Massachusetts. And I’m signed up for Living Social too but most of the deals are at least an hour away and nothing is really… useful. I mean it would be awesome to get an hour-long massage fro 20 bucks but I need those 20 bucks for groceries ya know? Sometimes living in a rural area has it’s drawbacks…

Donate Your Two Cents

