coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Grocery Bill – Week Two

on July 13, 2012

The remaining budget going into this shop: $137.79 or $45.93

My perceived budget going into this shop: $26.33 + $3.82 (remainder from last week’s supposed budget) = $30.15

Week Two Groceries

  • 3 lbs of apples
  • 4 green peppers
  • 2 bags of 1% milk
  • 2 bags of 2% milk
  • 18 eggs

TOTAL: $28.51

This was the shop that broke the camel’s back, to coin a phrase. I am done with not being able to buy FOOD. Did you know that for this week I had to choose between sour cream and eggs? WHO HAS TO DO THAT?!?! So I stopped. Ten extra dollars should really help. It should help with sour cream or spinach or green onions or mushrooms…*drool* what were we talking about? Oh right, I miss vegetables.

$28.51 means I am starving that I have a remaining $109.28!!!!!! Yay!!!!!!! That’s amazing because, seriously, I think that there may be five grocery shops this month. Phil gets off work for Saturday and if I haven’t died by then I am going to go grocery shopping again. Week Three will be on the 14th. That’s not even half way through the month, but my cupboards are BARE!

If I do FIVE weeks this month then my budget for the remaining three weeks is $36.43 per week. If I magically only do two more shops this month, then I have a budget of $54.64 per week. Which do you think I’ll end up doing?

Am I the only one neurotically checking my zucchini plants hoping for some gosh darn food to grow already?!?!

Here is a tasty recipe for you this week. From me!

Cabbage Rollsagna

I intended to make cabbage rolls – finally. I really, truly did. Do you know what happened? I over cooked the cabbage. The leaves were no longer stable enough to make rolls, but I had already made the filling. Sigh. So I improvised and it turned out REALLY WELL!

First, take your cabbage and throw it repeatedly at the ground. Aim for the core to have the contact with the floor. It rhymes. Smash it over and over again until the core looks all splintered and pathetic and most of the leaves have separated from it. This will make your life easier later. Place the cabbage core side down in a pot, then fill with water, cover, put on stove on high and walk away. Come back whenever. I think mine cooked for three hours? You may have to turn the temperature down from high to med-high (7) to prevent it from boiling over.

You’ll know your cabbage is done because it will be a see-through type of green-yellow and it will be very slimy to the touch. Mmmm. Strain this in the sink and then let it cool. If you don’t let it cool you will burn your precious little fingertips and that sucks.

AND OH MY GOD STUPID WORDPRESS JUST WIPED OUT ALL OF MY POST BEYOND THIS POINT!!!! ALL OF THE TIME I HAVE INVESTED SON OF A B*(&^#%(&*^(*&^%$#*@&^$%(#^@($%*&^.

Sigh.

Where were we?

For the filling you need: 1 lb of raw ground beef, 1 cup of rice, 1 finely diced onion, 1/8 cup of canned tomato sauce, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, and approximately 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. Combine in a bowl and mix well with your hands.

Once your cabbage has sufficiently cool you need to begin peeling off individual leaves. This is where smashing the core comes in handy. The leaves should separate fairly easily from the stem portion, this is a highly frustrating task and the leaves can tear very easily. SO you know. If your first 1-4 leaves are mushy and break a lot, that’s fine – normal even – if they continue beyond number 4 then you’ve probably overcooked your cabbage like I did and you should now panic and make rollsagna.

For rolls: Place one rounded spoon full of filler in the base of a leaf. Roll the stem into the leaf slightly, just enough to cover the fill completely. Fold the ‘sides’ of the leaf in towards the middle and continue your primary roll to tuck it all in neatly. Place seam down in a casserole dish. Once you have used up all of your fill, top with the remaining can of tomato sauce, cover in tinfoil and bake at 400F for one hour.

For rollsagna: Layer cabbage leaves in the bottom of a casserole dish. Add a thin layer of fill. Layer more leaves. More fill (this is where I ran out of fill). End with a double layer of leaves because…why not…top with the remaining canned tomato sauce and bake at 400F for one hour.

This is the finished product fresh out of the oven.

This is a portion, in a bowl, on my messy counter. You’re welcome!

Really tasty, less work than cabbage rolls, bit hit, easier to handle on your fork, blah blah blah, WordPress failing at saving this takes the life out of me. Why, WordPress, why?!?!?!

I really hope this saves, because if it doesn’t…I’m taking this recipe to the grave with me.

Donate Your Two Cents

