coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Dyed Rice

on July 13, 2012

I saw this awesome craft idea over at Mama. Papa. Bubba. a while ago and I thought we’d give it a try. Of course, I only own red food dye for whatever reason so we only made one colour. Check it out!

Take a jar and put either vinegar, rubbing alcohol, or hand sanitizer in it.

Then add some food colouring:

Then add the rice:

At this point you should shake vigorously. Keep in mind that if you ask your three year old to shake it that you should probably watch to make sure it gets evenly coated. *cough*

I then laid the rice on a baking sheet and put it in the sun to dry. Notice how the rice is notevenly coated? Yeah, I didn’t watch her. I think it still looks nice.

I haven’t been able to come up with a craft yet, but I have been toying with the idea of glueing them onto bird houses for Ally’s birthday party next month. I am willing to take suggestions though!

Speaking of birthday parties: Kira’s party is in a few days and her birthday is less than a week away as well! My little girl is going to be 2. That is so bittersweet. Her party is airplane themed because she loves airplanes, I’ll post some pictures after the fact.

10 responses to “Dyed Rice

  1. If you have old baby food jars, you can make mini maracas??? For my kids parties, I bought white tshirts and had a container of multicolored sharpies. We laid out all the shirts and the kids signed and drew on each others shirt. It was a craft and a take home item?

  2. The rice is pretty! I’m thinking of those hidden item tubes… You know, the ones where you tip it all around and upside down looking for hidden items like a paper clip, shell, tiny ceramic or plastic animal, marble…etc. You could let them make those. Could have them bring tiny things from home or get some dollar store finds to let them throw in. (now that I think of it, just might have to do this for MY daughter’s party. Hm.)

  3. I made this the other day for this weekend as is raining and my little one just had a ball playing with it. Such a simple idea yet so effective. (saw it on mamapapabubba.com too)

  4. Foodler Kids says:

    I have been meaning to do a post on this. We prepared several colors and then filled jars as a project at my son’s school.

  5. […] Coffee Powered Mom posted about a dyed rice craft for kids. I’ve been meaning to write my own post since I organized this as an activity […]

Donate Your Two Cents

