coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Catch All

on July 11, 2012

Top. Desk. Drawer.

This is apparently where everything on the face of the planet ends up.

After getting particularly frustrated one day I decided to clean it out.

Oh my God! Look at all of this stuff! I ran out of room on TOP of my desk while unloading one drawer. Catch all. Everything in the world.

Why is this picture sideways? It’s right ways up on my computer…

Stickers, a billion hair elastics, mini toothpaste and floss from the dentist, craft supplies and even a wine cork and beer bottle cap. Classy.

More stickers, napkins, tons of craft supplies, drawings, a cook book, a screw driver, ribbon, bob skate straps and even a pair of glasses that the kids snapped an arm off of a while back. Turns out the glasses were a good thing to keep, but more on that later.

So? Are you ready to see the finished product? I’m excited.

Whoa-ho! Actual desk supplies! And yes, I keep nail clippers in my desk for hang nails and every time the kids whine about their ‘nails being too long’ hahaha.

Want to know the kicker? About four days after I cleaned my desk we had a last minute visitor and I shoved everything that was on top of my desk (to be sorted, etc.) into the top drawer to hide it from sight.

Sigh.

12 responses to “Catch All

  1. sillyliss says:

    LOL! I love the kicker. That sounds just like me.

  2. Wow, look at that drawer! The sad thing with sorting and cleaning is that you have to keep doing it haha. There’s no end to the madness. My weakness is “important papers” that I really should file into our important file box but ends up in a pile in the closet to be sorted… later. Okay, you’ve inspired me to go in there and sort.

  3. That looks like some cool stuff, it’s worth letting it build up for some time then amaze yourself with all the little bits you’d forgotten about. It’s the sort of stuff you think ‘I really should keep this just in case….’, six months later ‘I really didn’t need to keep this just in case…’. We have lots of drawers/cupboards like this 🙂

  4. hnMom says:

    This is one of my weaknesses. I used to be able to tackle it once in a while but ever since Livi was born, things just keep piling up.
    Love the end of your story, that could so be me. 🙂

  5. Wow. We have several drawers like that in our house, I’m ashamed to admit, with no likelihood of cleaning them any time soon!

  6. blackcatsandbuttons says:

    Yep, I have a ‘shit I don’t know what to do with’ drawer too…actually I have several..

  7. Kim says:

    I have one…. or two …… or three of those!!! One of them is well over half way full of Del Taco hot sauce packets!!! It used to be ALL the way full, of them…. but, I did some house keeping and threw out quite a few. Hubs was NOT happy about that “What if we neeeeed those”

Donate Your Two Cents

