coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

A Month In Groceries – June 2012

on July 4, 2012

I thought I would summarize and reflect on how my first public month of budgeting our grocery bill went. For the first step I am going to compile all of the groceries that were purchased this first month.

Under budget, for the month of June, we bought:

  • 1 celery
  • 1 cabbage
  • 9 cans of tomato sauce
  • 9 tomatoes
  • hamburger buns
  • 15 lbs apples
  • 4 bricks of cheese
  • 8 bags of 1% milk
  • 4 bags of 2% milk
  • 4 bags of homogenized milk
  • 2 cans of mixed beans
  • 6 cans of tuna
  • 3 loaves of bread
  • 1 package of sausage buns
  • 500mL 10% cream
  • 1 box crackers
  • 1 package of bacon
  • 6 green peppers
  • 4 boxes of cereal
  • 36 eggs
  • 1 package of breakfast sausage
  • 1 jar of instant coffee
  • 10 sausages
  • 24 rolls of toilet paper
  • 2 BBQ sauces
  • 3 red peppers
  • 6 pork chops
  • 2 limes
  • 6 avocados
  • one bag of perogies
  • one bag of yellow onions
  • one bag of potatoes
  • one carton of grape tomatoes
  • mayonnaise
  • 2 jalapeno peppers

GRAND TOTAL: $238.69

MINUS the grocery shop that Phil paid for (or half of camping) = $191.30 out of my pocket. That is amazing! My grocery budget is $50 per week, or $200 per month, and I came in $8.70 shy! With full disclosure, I did purchase buns and sloppy joe mix at the dollar store this week because I was there and it looked sooooo good; and also two cans of mini corns. So that cost me an additional $5.09 – still under budget!

I also want to take into consideration items such as bacon ($3.00), breakfast sausage ($4.49), instant coffee ($6.47), 3 loaves of bread ($5.91), and at least 18 of those eggs ($4.47) are not purchases that I would normally make, were it not for camping. That would make a difference of ($24.34) in the monthly shop.

This upcoming month we will have to purchase more meat. Throughout June we were using up the frozen meat that I had stocked up on during a huge discount sale, and I am sad to say that we are down to our last three pounds of ground beef, and that is all. I threw an idea at Phil today, that perhaps we should do a big meat purchase soon; deduct the total from the $200 monthly allotted; and then divide the remainder evenly over the four weeks.

Changes for July:

  • 2% milk instead of homogenized for the entire month (approximate savings of $8 per month)
  • reducing the amount of milk that the children are allowed to drink (they prefer it to real food anyhow, and I often have to feed their meals to the dog. This is already encouraging more solid consumption, hahaha, and I’ve only been doing it for two days)
  • keep an eye open for a great price on canned tomato sauce and stock up (buy at least ten for the month, but spend no more than $16.80 (which is $1.68/can – what I spent maximum/can this month))
  • make all of the loaves of bread we will need (no more store bought for any reason)
  • replace crackers with homemade biscuits for snacks

I am hopeful for July, but I am also realistic. Both girls have birthdays in July, and we are having one of their birthday parties this month. I’m going to try to keep it cheap without seeming so, but I am also allotting a little extra this month into a ‘Party Fund’. Currently there is $31 in it. Wooo.

So, how do you think I did this month? Feedback. Constructive criticism. Props. I’ll take ’em all.

12 responses to “A Month In Groceries – June 2012

  1. sillyliss says:

    Wow, you did awesome!

    Although I’m not trying to stay within a budget at the moment, I just wanted to put out there that I went to the grocery store today to buy some things for the tea party we are having on Saturday morning, and the bill was $97! (This included some items Zeb threw on there, like milk, eggs, dog food, but still!)

  2. You’re awesome! That’s amazing. I hatE, haTE, HATE grocery shopping (and I rarely use the word h a t e – so you catch my drift). Do your kids like beans of any sort? Beans are a great filler, and cheap, usually. Still working on my kids… Not huge fans. But inexpensive and good for cleaning the nasties out! (as in their grouchy attitudes – the fiber from beans rids their bodies of the bad stuff – it’s a great attitude cleanse when they eat it!)

    • Hahaha! My kids DO like beans! Our grocery store was out of stock (or had rearranged and forgotten to tell me) a couple of times last month, but there’s a can used in Pasta Fagioli (one of our newest staples) and I like to toss them into other dishes too. 😀

  3. I am super impressed! Great job girl!!

  4. Congratulations! You nailed it on the first try. $50 is my current budget as well and sometimes, it is very hard. You’ll struggle a little more this month, having to buy more meats, but the hunt is the fun part. I love a challenge! Thanks for sharing and keep up the good work!

    • Argh. I think that I’m really missing buying tons of vegetables. We don’t really have a garden (it’s only 3 feet by 3 feet) so we’re not exactly ‘self sufficient’ in the green department. Unfortunately that cuts out a whole lot of fresh greens that we love to eat. That’ll be the first expansion I do for our budget, hahaha.

      • Use containers! You can hang them from hooks, off of banisters, in baskets, etc. You will be very surprised how much you can grow that way! Are you a canner? Tons of my winter food comes from the pantry after I’m done canning the harvest I get from our garden and the farmer’s market. Meats are my most expensive purchase for sure. I’m on the hunt to barter for some. hahahaha

Donate Your Two Cents

