coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Au Courant Fare

on June 29, 2012

au courant – in the current

fare – food; diet

Every week I will challenge myself to try new recipes from around the interwebs. New, and easy recipes because my cooking skill is…subpar…and my energy level is minimum! The challenge is to try at least ONE new recipe each week, and to critique and photograph these creations. I will post this every Friday. Yay for challenges!

If you are featured on Au Courant Fare, then feel free to grab this badge: https://coffeepoweredmom.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/aucourantfarebadge.jpg so you can put it in your sidebar and brag to all your friends!

This week I tried:

Country Biscuits

This recipe comes from Jecca at Om Nomalicious (which is apparently two words and I didn’t realize that. I am sooooo embarrassed. Sorry Pam and Jecca). One of the first things in this post is the most mouth-watering picture of warm, tasty biscuits that you willever see. Don’t believe me? Click the link. Go ahead. Yeah, amazing isn’t it?

First you’re going to need a helper. Someone who, for some reason, thinks that flour tastes good. Yeah… I guess you can make these without a helper, but I wouldn’t know how. I guess you’ll have to improvise.

2 cups of flour, 1 tablespoon of baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt into a bowl. Have your helper mix. And get flour on her face.

Once it’s all the way mixed you want to GENTLY add 1/2 cup of margarine (or butter, shortening, Crisco…). Why gently, you ask? Because if you just shake the measuring cup up and down over your bowl until the margarine drops into the bowl, then your flour mixture will explode everywhere. Nice one mom.

Cut the margarine into the mix until it resembles ‘sand’. Sand is what I told Ally to aim for. I may or may not have gotten a little lazy around ‘wet sand’ – you know, clumps.

Add 1 cup of milk and then stir the dough quickly for it to come together.

You have now achieved the base dough. At this point you can add whichever tasty additions you would like. I read ‘base’ and celebrated because that means ‘plain’ to me. So I added nothing.

Drop rounded spoonfuls onto a baking sheet.

Bake at 450F for 12-15 minutes (mine took 14). Then devour.

These are the last two. I almost forgot to grab a picture. These were the best biscuits I have ever had. They were so soft and creamy inside. Argh, this is making my hungry again just thinking about them. Everyone loved them. My mother in law even had one when she was over. I ate three. At least. And there were only nine.

This recipe was so easy and satisfying and kid friendly…I love it! I will be making this over and over again. Thanks again Jecca, for posting recipes that make my family drool!

9 responses to “Au Courant Fare

  1. victorialb says:

    those look so divine! pinning this! xo

  2. Jecca says:

    I’m so glad you liked them! And I am a messy cook also, I don’t think people can be a good cook and not make a mess! 😀 I wish I had a little helper!

  3. MAKING ME SOOO HUNGRY!!!! Will need to try these with cheese and bacon.

  4. myhonestself says:

    I’m thinking garlic & cheese as additions!!! This is one I’ll definitely be trying my kids are big fans of biscuits and mixing!!

Donate Your Two Cents

