coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Grocery Bill – Week Three

on June 25, 2012

I think that to explain what happened this week that I need to clarify something first. Phil and I have separate bank accounts. I pay for certain things (ie groceries) and he pays for certain things (ie gas) which is why it is highly unusual, but greatly appreciated that he decided to pay for this week’s groceries. When he asked for the grocery list for this shop I told him that it was just milk since the budget was only $7.61. He looked at me with a raised eyebrow while I explained that it sucked, and that milk was going to cost me at least $18 and we’d have even less for Week 4, but that’s what happened because of our camping bill. So he decided to pay for it. The whole week’s worth of groceries. Epic awesome. If anyone is upset by this and thinks that it’s cheating, then we can just pretend that we split last week’s grocery bill because of the additional camping expenses, and therefore I still had a complete budget for this week.

Tahdah. Isn’t it lovely if we all compromise?

Week Three Groceries

  • 24 rolls of toilet paper
  • 2 BBQ sauces
  • 2 cans of tomato sauce
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 3 red peppers
  • 6 lbs of apples
  • 2 boxes of cereal
  • 6 pork chops
  • 2 bags of 1% milk
  • 2 bags of 2% milk

TOTAL: $47.39

You may have noticed that we bought 2% instead of homogenized milk this week. Kira is almost 2 years old (which is when I switched Ally from homogenized to 2%) and homo milk is an extra $1 per bag. That’s an extra $2 per week, or $8 per month. Ka-savings!

Thanks to his generosity, I now have a budget of $50 for Week 4. This. Is. Epic. We’re almost out of laundry detergent and bar soap, so those will have to be added to the list for next week, along with a bag of yellow onions and a bag of potatoes; this $50 budget may save us.

Possible meals for Week Three (June 21-June 28) are:

  • Goulash (already eaten)
  • BBQ’d pork chops with baked potatoes and roast cauliflower and pepper (already eaten)
  • Ham, string beans, leftover cauliflower and pepper (already eaten)
  • Cabbage rolls (because Lord knows I still haven’t made them)
  • Pasta Fagioli

Last week I made Ham, Noodles and Eggs for dinner one week. This is a meal that *I* grew up on back when we were po’ (that’s ‘poor’ for all you middle classers, hahaha) and I remember my mother refusing to make it if we ever had company. It was a po’ meal of shame, but it was my favourite. So now, I am breaking all of the rules and not only am I admitting that I eat this, and make it for my family, but I am also going to share the recipe on the internet.

*gasp*

Ham, Noodles and Eggs

Put a large pot of water on to boil for pasta. Cut a ham into small bite sized pieces. Leftovers are awesome for this. Place them in a large frying pan (leave extra space) with a tsp of vegetable oil and fry.While the ham is frying, crack 6 eggs into a bowl or measuring cup. Add 1/2 cup of milk approximately.

Once the water boils, add 3/4 of a bag of pasta and cook. When there is only 3 minutes of cook time left, whisk the eggs and add them to the ham. Stir the ham and eggs until the eggs are almost cooked, then remove from heat.

Once the pasta is cooked, drain it and return it to the pot. Add the ham and eggs mixture and stir over medium high until eggs are cooked. Voila. Bowl and serve, I eat mine with ketchup on it.

COST

  • 1/2 of a small ham – $1.77
  • 6 eggs – $1.49
  • 1/2 cup of milk – $0.14
  • 3/4 of a bag of pasta – $0.75

=$4.15

And you can kind of tell from the picture how much it made right? At least two full dinners.

PS There are not enough participants for the Great Outdoors Photo Challenge. The deadline for submissions is in five days. (There are now some participants, hooray! Please feel free to participate if you haven’t yet. It’s just a quick photo of a hot beverage container and an outdoor activity. Tim Horton’s litter on your walking path? That counts.)

10 responses to “The Grocery Bill – Week Three

  1. It looks so yummy and hearty and salty and fabulous! I think I may need to make that this week.

  2. pamasaurus says:

    OMG, that looks AMAZING! I grew up eating a bunch of ‘poor food’ too, and some of it is actually REALLY delicious!

  3. Another amazing-looking recipe 🙂

  4. Kim says:

    Hello. I just wanted to let you know that http://www.kimberliah.com has moved on to a self-hosted website. What does this mean for you? Possibly nothing, if you were tired of my blog, but didn’t have the heart to un-follow. You’re officially off the hook! However, if you were still pro-kimberliah please take a moment and visit my site and re-follow. I’ll be your friend for life. I promise! It’ll only take a few second of your time and it will make me smile…. and possibly shed a tear. Happy blogging!

  5. Where are you buying ham? In Los Angeles this much ham would cost much more. This looks like quite a tasty dish for the money.

    • Ham is really expensive here too normally! I had foolishly thrown out the package before recording the weight, but let me assure you that it was a small ham. They were on sale when I purchase them, but I would liken it to the size of a large eggplant. Smaller than a cabbage.

Donate Your Two Cents

