coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

It’s Irreparably Broken

on June 24, 2012

ir·rep·a·ra·ble

adjective

not reparable; incapable of being rectified, remedied, or made good: an irreparable mistake.

This is terrible. Ally will be coming home from her dad’s house soon, and I never forgot to tidy the toys before Kira and I went out to the park. Edie chewed up Ally’s ‘computer’. It’s a V-Tech Reader thing that costs money and I don’t even know if they make it any more but the dog destroyed it and now it doesn’t work anymore. She ate the screen. THE SCREEN!

Ally is going to be crushed. She’s going to be devastated. She will cry about this for weeks on end. Mark my words. She’ll still be crying about this when she goes to school in September.

I want to soften the blow somehow. Be a super mom. Someone who won’t be frustrated by the sadness and whining that will follow because this is a huge deal for her and there’s nothing I can do about it.

Help!

8 responses to “It’s Irreparably Broken

  1. Eeks! This is terrible. It seems like you’re already doing the right thing by admitting that her reaction will probably be crazy. It’s so easy to dismiss it or just tell them to buck up already but I think it’s pretty clear that this toy was special for her. Sorry to hear that… 😦

    • I am DREADING her homecoming. I think I may put it off until tomorrow. I don’t want to be dishonest, but when she gets in we get our pyjamas on, brush teeth, read a book and go to sleep. If I break this to her now she may have a meltdown and not sleep for *hours*.

  2. sillyliss says:

    Is she home now? What happened? Is everything okay??

Donate Your Two Cents

