coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Au Courant Fare

on June 24, 2012

au courant – in the current

fare – food; diet

Every week I will challenge myself to try new recipes from around the interwebs. New, and easy recipes because my cooking skill is…subpar…and my energy level is minimum! The challenge is to try at least ONE new recipe each week, and to critique and photograph these creations. I will post this every Friday. Yay for challenges!

If you are featured on Au Courant Fare, then feel free to grab this badge: https://coffeepoweredmom.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/aucourantfarebadge.jpg so you can put it in your sidebar and brag to all your friends!

This week I tried:

Goulash

This recipe comes from Jecca at omnomalicious and it was amazing! Super simple, cheap, and it had us going back for more. This meal gave my stomach a hug it was so tasty! In fact, we had my parents over for a belated Father’s Day dinner yesterday and this is the recipe I made for everyone. So now I’ve had it twice. It got great reviews and dad had a second bowl!

First step is to chop up a green pepper and a yellow onion.

Toss them in a flat bottomed pot with a tablespoon of margarine over medium until they are soft. If you forget and the second time you make this you cook them on 7 instead of five, they won’t be as soft immediately and you may sear them a little. It will still be delicious. Forgive yourself. Once the peppers and onions are soft, throw in one pound of ground meat. The recipe calls for beef which I used the first time (and for these pictures), the second time I used ground chicken because I had it. Jecca says to add two minced garlic cloves at this point, so I tossed in about one tablespoon of garlic powder. Break the meat into chunks and cook thoroughly. No more pink, comprende?

Boil thee some water for making pasta. The recipe calls for 1 lb, so I made about half a package because that seemed right. Plus, it was all of the elbow macaroni I had. When I made this the second time I used fusilli. At this point you’re supposed to add one can of tomato sauce, one can of diced tomatoes (and their juices) and one cup of tomato juice. Nothing quite says “one can of diced tomatoes and tomato juice” like two tomatoes – diced – and 1/3 tomato sauce can of water after the tomato sauce is added”. Was that confusing? I added one can of tomato sauce, then filled that same can 1/3 of the way with water and added that as well. I also diced two tomatoes and added them.

Now add 2 teaspoons of basil powder (1 tsp of basil, 1 tsp of oregano…guess who ran out of oregano) a dash of black pepper and simmer.

Once the pasta is cooked you may strain it and add it to your pot. Simmer for an additional five minutes of tasty flavour exchange and voila! Mouth watering goodness.

This makes a huge pot of Goulash and we pretty much emptied it both times. We don’t really know how to stop when something is tasty. Thank you Jecca! And Jecca’s Mom, and Jecca’s Grandmother!

The Budget Breakdown

  • 1 lb of ground beef – $3.00
  • 1 green pepper – $0.87
  • 1 yellow onion – $0.11
  • 2 tomatoes – $0.61
  • 1 can of tomato sauce – $1.68
  • 1/2 package of pasta – $0.50
  • margarine, basil, garlic powder, black pepper – $0.30

TOTAL – $7.07

Anything under $10 for a complete meal is awesome in my books, but when you consider that last night there were four adults and one toddler who ate, AND three of the adults were able to have a second bowl, this meal is CHEAP. Budget friendly, taste bud tantalizing, company thrilling – great. If you have a little cheddar, I would highly recommend shredding it for a bowl topping. We had this last night and it only added an extra $0.50 to the meal cost, but WOW what a taste!

PS Only six more days for the photo challenge. If no one else enters then I will have to cancel it.

8 responses to “Au Courant Fare

  1. I’m always on the lookout for recipes; thanks for this suggestion. Sadly I had never even heard of goulash but it looks totally doable.

  2. Jecca says:

    That’s awesome to see how much it costs!

  3. betsyk1 says:

    I grew up on the stuff, being Hungarian. Way to go!

  4. myhonestself says:

    A favourite for me too! I add beans (black or kidney) just because I love beans! It’s kinda like a simple ‘chili’ style meal. Served with garlic bread it is always a pleaser in this house!

Donate Your Two Cents

