coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Brooklin Spring Fair

on June 19, 2012

I’m up to June now. That only puts me about two weeks behind, but we’ve been packed with activities recently and I just want to share them all.

The first weekend of June every year plays host to the Brooklin Spring Fair. When I was a kid my parents used to take us to this fair, I stopped going when I moved away, but once I moved back to the area I’ve been able to start going again! Unfortunately, Phil was working every day of the fair this year (bummer), but the girls and I were able to meet up with Aunt Jodi and Uncle Russ and have a great time!

Also, I swear I dressed nicely but then the weather was cool because of the rain and I was wearing Phil’s sweater so….I look like a dude. The whole time.

First stop – the animal tents where Ally got to hold a chick! Kira wanted to, but she kept crushing it. I gave it back so it wouldn’t die.

Quail chicks!

I think we pet 80 goats. Maybe more. There were SO MANY goats.

We did facepainting but Kira was having none of the ‘face’ part and ended up having her hand painted instead.

Ally’s swirls.

Thank God for Aunt Jodi and Uncle Russ. The first ride that the kids wanted to go on? The only one that’ll make me vomit in under a minute. I can’t do the Berries!!!

Luckily I signed up for the one with vicious heights. Woo!
Do you like my sweater?

Then we played the duck catching game (guaranteed winner).

Kira’s arm got a little wet.

Ally won an elephant!

Kira won this yellow cat that she chose and then promptly hated and didn’t want anymore. I don’t think she held it the entire time we were there.

We had fair poutine because the kids started eyeing Aunt Jodi’s, I also bought cotton candy and freshly squeezed lemonade which are my fair-favourites. πŸ˜€ It was awesome, like always, and we’ll be going back next year as well! Hopefully next year we’ll remember to go to the petting zoo portion because it was somehow overlooked this year!

PS Remember that I’m super cool and am having another Photo Challenge! PARTICIPATE!

 

13 responses to “Brooklin Spring Fair

  1. Aunt Jodi says:

    Russ and I had a blasty blast! We’re looking forward to another family adventure with you guys to the fair next year πŸ˜€ when the girls are a bit bigger I hope they can come to the demolition derby on the Saturday night. Russ and I went back and there was a car done up like Lightning McQueen! Hopefully I’ll get my derby car prepared in time for the Port Perry smash up! πŸ˜€

  2. sillyliss says:

    That looks like so much fun. Zeb loathes fairs, or any kind of event where there is 1) heat and 2) crowds. So I have to either take the kids by myself or not go. Harumph. I wish I could go with Aunt Jodi and Uncle Russ. Awesome!

  3. pamasaurus says:

    Looks like you had fun!! I want fair poutine! Heck, I want poutine in general. It sounds delicious, but we don’t have it here 😦

    • It’s fries with cheese curds and gravy, so you could maybe put in a special order? I’m not normally that big of a fan (I know, and I’m Canadian – it’s messed up) but sometimes just plain old shredded cheese with gravy is tasty too!

      • pamasaurus says:

        The diner by my house has gravy and cheese fries.. but it’s like melted cheddar+cheese whiz. It’s pretty delicious. I just feel like I have to go to Canada and have real poutine at some point in my life πŸ˜‰

  4. sleepdeprivedbliss says:

    I wish we could break out the rain coats and sweaters! Its been 90+ degrees everyday for the past week here! Looks like so much fun!

  5. lorajbanks says:

    Those kids are adorable. I love the fair!

  6. Looks like a fun time πŸ™‚

Donate Your Two Cents

