coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Au Courant Fare

on June 15, 2012

au courant – in the current

fare – food; diet

Every week I will challenge myself to try new recipes from around the interwebs. New, and easy recipes because my cooking skill is…subpar…and my energy level is minimum! The challenge is to try at least ONE new recipe each week, and to critique and photograph these creations. I will post this every Friday. Yay for challenges!

If you are featured on Au Courant Fare, then feel free to grab this badge: https://coffeepoweredmom.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/aucourantfarebadge.jpg so you can put it in your sidebar and brag to all your friends!

This week I tried:

30 Minute Chicken Pork and Broccoli Pasta

This recipe comes from Bulldog and Baby and looked so tasty that I bookmarked it immediately. I was leafing through my bookmarked recipe when I saw the word ‘broccoli’ and could quite suddenly hear my broccoli crowns crying for the vegetable drawer.

Use us! Before we go bad! We’re starting to go bad! Why God, whyyyyyy?

So, of course, I responded to their pitiful cries for mercy. Then I discovered that I had no more chicken, my last two breasts are reserved for some homemade chicken noodle soup at camp (by the time you read this, that soup will have been consumed last night), and I was crushed. I considered other options, but the pitiful cries from the broccoli made me decide to push through this. I defrosted some pork chops.

After baking the pork chops in the oven, I boiled some pasta. When there was 3 minutes left in the cooking time, I tossed the broccoli into the water as well. 3 minutes later, broccoli and pasta was drained, sitting in the sink.

The recipe then calls for grape tomatoes halved, but I didn’t have those either so I diced two tomatoes and sautéed them on medium high in the bottom of my pot with a tsp of oil. After the tomatoes became hot and wilty I was supposed to add soft cheese, parmesan cheese, and milk; but I had no soft cheese so I opted for sour cream instead. Yeah, I did. In went 1 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of parmesan, 1/4 cup of sour cream, 1 tbsp of garlic powder, and 1 tsp of black pepper. Simmer on medium high for two minutes.

I then tossed the pork (that we’ve both been slicing while this sauce has been cooking, right guys?) into the sauce, removed from heat and mixed in the pasta-broccoli. Done.

Delicious. This was so tasty, almost alfredo like. Because I didn’t have soft cheese, the flavour was more mild than I’d prefer. Next time I will either melt shredded cheese into the sauce, or top the hot bowl with shredded cheese. Just for some added kick. This dish was fast and easy, and made a ton!

The Budget Breakdown

  • 2 pork chops – $2.50
  • 1/2 bag (450 grams) of pasta – $0.90
  • 4 crowns of broccoli – $1.38
  • 2 tomatoes – $0.61
  • 1 cup of milk – $0.31
  • 1/4 cup of parmesan – $1.25
  • 1/4 cup of sour cream – $0.38
  • 1 tbsp of garlic powder and 1 tsp of black pepper – $0.10

TOTAL – $7.43

$7.43 isn’t bad for a dinner, but it made so much that we ate: one dinner for two, two lunches for two, and one man-sized lunch for one. Now there‘s a bargain!

PS We’re still camping! I’ll be back soon to attend to the multitudes of comments that I know all of my inter-friends have left me.

2 responses to “Au Courant Fare

  1. tdblue says:

    I never thought of trying it with pork – will definitely have to try it this way! I love how you use what you have on hand. Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

    • Sharing is what I do best 😛 hahaha, seriously though, I love how interesting that blogging makes cooking! To be able to share recipes online…well, it’s a new and exciting experience for me. 😀

Donate Your Two Cents

