coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Repurposing the Sand Box

on June 14, 2012

Right before we moved here I purchased an outdoor playset second hand. It also came with a kids picnic table, a seesaw type thing, and a sandbox. The lid does not secure onto the sandbox. That means it is a giant litter box for cats and raccoons. Yay. So I decided against acquiring sand for it. A couple of weeks ago, Kira and I were spending a day alone and it was a scorcher. Then it hit me.

Wading pool.

Some water from the hose, toys from the kitchen, and a t-shirt and swim diaper because I left her swimsuit in the car which Phil took to work, and voila! Instant fun.

Also, here’s a picture of Kira shortly thereafter enjoying an ant crawling on her fingers.

Whaaaaaaa?

Cheers.

PS Remember we are away camping! Leave some love and I’ll reply in a few days!

14 responses to “Repurposing the Sand Box

  1. sillyliss says:

    Cute cute cute!

    Funny, we did the SAME THING with our sandbox. When we put in a playground, it came with sandbox space, so we took our plastic turtle and made it into a small swimming pool. The girls mostly use it as a water table.

    It also collects mosquitoes like nobody’s business. Maybe we shouldn’t leave standing water in it?

    But then what would the dog drink? : )

    • myhonestself says:

      Ha! Our’s is my dogs water dish too!

    • I’m lucky because I use it on the deck so as soon as my kids are done with it, I tip it over and pour it out…teapot…
      However, we do have a rain barrel type thing on our property that just collects stagnant water. The dog may or may not drink out of that…

  2. The thought of seeing a raccoon in our garden is funny, but I’m sure it’s more of a headache for you! Hope camping was fun!

    • Camping was awesome! And we saw a raccoon there too, although it’s much less startling than in the city for some reason.
      I’m not a fan of raccoons, so I’m pretty happy that the dog kicked it’s butt.

  3. betsyk1 says:

    Nicely done. Love the dogs rear-end too! 😉

  4. tdblue says:

    That is brilliant! Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I’m definitely going to have to try this – and it’s perfect height for my Frenchie to hop in too!

    • I remember having a small plastic pool when I was a kid, and it was awesome because it was wet and you could play in it. Other than that, everything else was just details. I figured that my kids really loved puddles, so imagine a clean puddle that they could sit in…whoa…mind blowing. 😀

  5. Enjoy camping – and could the little one be any cuter!! Adorable!

    • Camping was AMAZING. And she’s very photogenic, that’s for sure. 😀 I got a couple of great pictures from camping too! TBP (my new acronym: To Be Posted. Yeah, it’ll be a hit)

  6. Very cute – she is clearly having some kind of fun!

  7. valenciamfrancisxi says:

    Reblogged this on Valencia Francis Post.

Donate Your Two Cents

