coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Bagged Milk

on June 12, 2012

When I wrote my post Budget Cuts recently, I included my small grocery list for that week’s shop. On the list were the items “2 bags of 1% milk” and “2 bags of homogenized milk”. I then had a couple of comments that were along the lines of “wtf bagged milk?” so I decided to bridge a cultural gap.

This is for you Palatka Mom and Sillyliss.

In Canada we do sell milk in the cartons, I have only ever bought those for camping. Mac’s Milk (which is a convenience store of sorts) sells milk in a big plastic jug, that you can return when it is empty for $0.25. I most often buy my milk in bags.

You’re welcome Beatrice and Sealtest for the advertisements. Please contact me through email to gain my mailing address so that you can send me coupons for your milk. I go through 4 of these bags – 16 litres – each week. Coupons would rock.

So, as above, the milk comes in a 4L bag, each bag contains 3 ‘1.3L’ pouches or bladders. Skim, 1% and 2% retail for at or just above $4 per bag, so you’re paying at or just above $1/litre. Each bag is held shut with a plastic tab similar to a bread tab which has the Best Before date written on it. This one says June 21, plenty of time for my family. You simply slide your pouch/bladder into the milk jug and then use scissors or a similarly sharp item to cut a small triangle off of a corner. Voila. The milk – she pours.

I hope this was educational, and a little bit fun. Milk is expensive, but where I’m from, buying it in the bags is the best deal.

27 responses to “Bagged Milk

  1. sillyliss says:

    Very educational. But now I am giggling at the word “bladder.” Because I have the sense of humor of an eight-year-old boy. Bladder. Tee hee hee hee hee.

  2. It’s like boxed wine….I get it!

  3. pamasaurus says:

    WHAT??!?? One of my really good internet friends lives in Canada (Near Winnipeg) and I’m always amazed by the stuff he tells me. Sometimes, I honestly think he’s just making stuff up… and ‘milk in a bag’ would’ve been something I’d believe to be made up!

    The only time I’ve seen bagged milk was when I worked in a restaurant and they used these HUGE 5 gallon bags of milk. I’d get one of the guys to pop them in the machine (they were HEAVY) and then it worked like a soda fountain. Press a button, get milk!

    You have officially blew my mind for the morning, haha.

    • I worked in a Dairy Queen for a while, and the ice cream also comes in those giant bags that get pumped into the machine before it’s frozen and then served. 😀 I was the only girl who work there who could lift them. Win.

      • pamasaurus says:

        Woot! I worked at a place that had the ice cream machines like that, and the bags are smaller than the straight up milk ones… but of course, Dairy Queen probably sells WAY more ice cream, so they probably use bigger bags 😉

        I ran over to facebook and wrote on my Canadian friend’s wall about bagged milk. He said he’s seen it once in his whole life. I was sad because I was going to buy some next time I visited him!

  4. filltheirbellies says:

    We lived in Minnesota for about six months and that is where we saw our first milk “begs” (tee hee) I was sure it was a joke! But alas, twas not! In fact, it was much cheaper to buy milk by the bag versus plastic jug!

    • It is! Which I can kind of understand (materials cost), but I also really get the Mac’s Milk approach to offer a 25 cent return on all bottles. Then they can sterilize and reuse them!

  5. Palatka Mom says:

    Thank you for clearing this up for me! Ours only come in gallon or half gallon jugs here in Florida and if you are a family of milk drinkers, those jugs will take up a whole shelf in the frig. I bet you’re able to save alot of space by buying the bags. :~)

    • Now that I think about it, yes! If I had to buy four jugs, AND I could magically make them all fit in my fridge (I think I’d have to remove a shelf or two) there wouldn’t be room for anything else. I’d need to have a ‘milk fridge’ and an ‘everything else’ fridge.

  6. I am an expat in Canada but I have never seen them before. I do find milk expensive so I might try your way!

    • Not sure what “expat” means, and I am really really lazy right now, so I’ll Google it later.
      I can’t speak for all of Canada, but we live in Ontario, and I know for sure that they’re here! I also didn’t know until recently that other parts of the world DIDN’T sell their milk in bags! I was awestruck!

  7. betsyk1 says:

    How do you keep the bag shut, then? Or do you just not worry about it?

    • Once it’s in the ‘milk jug’, the white plastic holder I pictured above, there isn’t too much worry for it to spill. Take the jug out for use, return to the fridge when done – I guess the short answer is ‘don’t worry about it’.
      If we take milk somewhere like the cottage or the camping that we’ll be doing this week I will pinch the open end shut, and then wrap an elastic around it as if it’s a plastic ponytail. This has proven quite effective for me for travelling, no milky spills yet!

  8. Fascinating. I never knew!

  9. Huh. The crazy ideas you Canadians come up with! 🙂 This hippie mama’s thinking that those bags probably take up a LOT less space in landfills.

  10. tdblue says:

    That is so neat. I can’t get over it. BAGS of milk – but you’re reusing the bags, which is awesome for the environment.

Donate Your Two Cents

