coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Versatile Blogger Award

on June 9, 2012

Well, look who’s postingtwo times a day! I get so excited about receiving awards from amazing people, and then I want to do my acceptance and delivery speech but Ican’tschedule a post like that because I have to comment on people’s blog to let them know that they won too, and it’s silly to send them a link and be all ‘check this out on June # at 10:00am, k?’

This then sends me here and makes me feel awesome about doing it, and then a little bad because I follow awesome blogs, but the ones that I’ve been following for longer than a week (and hence know) aren’t exactly…numerous…and although quite deserving, there are a few blogs that are getting multiple awards from me! I guess that’s okay though.

The Versatile Blogger Award comes from F-Words. She says I rule, which is awesome because SHE rules, and that makes for an endless circle of awesomeness. In case the world didn’t know, she’s my BMBF (Blogger Mom Best Friend) and we’ve known each other since forever. Or since April or something.

So!

What what!!

  • Thank and link to the nominator, that’s you F-Words 
  • Tell the interwebs seven (more) things about yourself
  • Nominate 15 blogs that give you love-face

Yeah, I’m running out of creative ways to tell people they’re awesome, so my newest addition to my vocabulary is ‘love-face’. It’s not meant in the romantic sense, but more of a wow, your blog is so awesome it make my face smile with all of the respect and love that I have for your creativity sense.

THINGS ABOUT ME! #8-#14 (although the list is going to pretend it starts at 1. Maybe I should call it Things About Me 2)

  1. I was 13 years old the first time I drank coffee. We were on a class trip in Grade 8 and I lied and said that my parents let me drink coffee at home, so I could be cool. Ugh, it tasted like garbage. Terrible, terrible coffee. I must have put 13+ sugars into the coffee to make it palatable enough to swallow in painful gulps. It was another 3 years before I drank coffee again.
  2. My family never sent Christmas Cards (to my knowledge) but I thought it was such an awesome idea that as soon as I moved out of my parents’ house I started sending my own Christmas Cards every year. I always include a picture of my kids. Everyone loves that.
  3. I used the interwebs to locate some babysitters in my area, I am meeting with them in a couple of weeks for their interviews and so I can see their certifications and get their references. This is a little foolish because I’m super poor now, but I think it will be handy to have some babysitters in my pocket in case I need them. Can you believe they charge $10/hour! I only made $5/hour when I babysat. At least they’re my back-ups, and I do have two kids and a dog. Whatevs.
  4. I play guitar! I can (or used to be able to…so much time has passed) also play: trumpet, drums, clarinet, bells (metal xylophone), tuba and tambourine. Oh yeah, tambourine. (Tambourine has a u in it???)
  5. After the kids go to bed we play video games, watch hockey, a show or movie. The video games we most frequently play are: Team Fortress 2, Counter Strike Source, Killing Floor, and Minecraft; all through the interwebs, some days with my brother and his girlfriend. We also play War in the North, Dance Central, Carnival Games and Adventure Games for the XBox, and back when we had the PlayStation 3 we would play NHL or Formula One.
  6. Now that the warm weather is here I hang the laundry out to dry. I don’t hang the black or dark blue clothes, less for the bleaching effect of the sun and more for the dryer-removes-dog-hair-more-effectively-than-the-wind effect. I also don’t hang underwear or bras. No one else needs to see that.
  7. My bike helmet is grey with lime green on it. Super cool. I wore one as a kid, became too cool as a teenager, and once we started biking together as a family we ALL got helmets to set a good example. And protect our skulls, because dying when you could have prevented it is not cool.

That was pretty good, right? I’m patting myself on the back over those seven as. we. speak. On to my nominations! These are tough because I only get to pick 15, and although that number is too small to encompass all of the blogs I like, it is a massive number if I want to say nice things about them. Like huge. Do you know what’s great about awards though? When you’re reading someone else’s award page you can hold CTRL and left-click on every one of their nominees to open all of those blogs in new tabs. Then you can browse through them and find yourself some new reading material! Awesome bloggers that you too may want to follow. So, although I’m not going to describe these, (I tried to put three words next to each one for my last page, do you know how many times the word ‘Funny’ appeared?) you may want to hold CTRL and left-click yourself some new and awesome blogs to follow. Ka-chow!

  1. yoonanimous
  2. kimberliah
  3. baby love
  4. The Simply Southern Woman
  5. Perfectly Imperfect Momma
  6. Domestic Diva MD
  7. As I See It
  8. Soapfi, and Other Stuff
  9. Joyfully Noisy One
  10. We’re Expecting
  11. Pa-Blam!
  12. lazyhippiemama
  13. justmypeanuts
  14. A Happy Moment A Day – My Project 365
  15. steadily skipping stones

So, there we are! I really appreciate all of the recognition that’s being tossed my way, and because this post took me over an hour to write, it will happen around the same time as the one I had scheduled for today. Oops! Happy reading everyone!

19 responses to “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. victorialb says:

    thanks for nominating baby love!!

  2. Thanks for nominating “We’re Expecting!” This is our first award and means a lot!! Have a great day 🙂

  3. Thank you! 🙂 I LOVE getting happy surprises in my inbox!!!

  4. pamasaurus says:

    Congrats!!!!

    Thanks for the nomination! My first for my personal blog 😀

  5. Thank you so much! That’s very nice of you 🙂

  6. Palatka Mom says:

    Thanks for nominating “thesimplysouthernwoman”. It was just the kind of surprise I needed today. :~)

  7. oregana says:

    Many, many thanks! I am overwhelmed. 🙂

  8. kebibarra says:

    Whhhaaaatttt????? Shut the F-up dude!!! Thank you so much. You just don’t know how much I appreicate it!!

  9. soapfismom says:

    Wowza!! Thanks for the nomination – I will do my best to be worthy of it! Must being planning my list of 7!

  10. […] Coffee Powered Mom sent me the Versatile Blogger Award.  Thanks, CPM!  I love your blog too!  🙂 […]

  11. myhonestself says:

    My first award and I’ve yet to thank/respond/post it!!!!! Don’t let that be a symbol of my thanks because I’m über excited about this!!!!! Promise as soon as I’m back home and things are back to normal I’m all over this 🙂 I’m already thinking up 7 things you might not know about me…..

Donate Your Two Cents

