coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Au Courant Fare

on June 8, 2012

au courant – in the current

fare – food; diet

Every week I will challenge myself to try new recipes from around the interwebs. New, and easy recipes because my cooking skill is…subpar…and my energy level is minimum! The challenge is to try at least ONE new recipe each week, and to critique and photograph these creations. I will post this every Friday. Yay for challenges!

If you are featured on Au Courant Fare, then feel free to grab this badge: https://coffeepoweredmom.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/aucourantfarebadge.jpg so you can put it in your sidebar and brag to all your friends!

This week I tried:

Fresh Avocado Tomato Salad

This recipe comes from The Vreeland Clinic and I have to admit, I am developing quite a soft spot for avocado. Although, for the life of me I can’t convince my fingers that it’s spelled avOcado and I always type ‘avac’ then realize that the next letter is an a and there is only two of them. Sigh. I pronounce it avAcado so…foolish word.

This recipe is simple, delicious, and a great big hit in our house.

You will need: cilantro, avocados, red onion, grape tomatoes, lime, and one optional jalapeno. Bring it on optional! First, make sure that your avocados are ripe! Of the three pictured here, one is not ripe enough. Sadly, it will be cut in half, and then quarters before defeat is finally admitted. Do you know what’s terrible about cutting an unripe avocado? There is nothing you can do to save it. It will either sit on the counter and mold before ripening, or be put in the fridge and brown without ripening. RIP Avocado. Now over on the recipe there are all kinds of fancy measurements and such, but we know how good I am with directions. As soon as I realized I was supposed to use all five of my yummy avocados, I panicked and decided to change the recipe. Or make less…probably less.

Chop up your avocados! Yummy, bite-sized pieces. Proceed to slices your grape tomatoes (because you didn’t buy the recommended cherry tomatoes) in half. Stop when it looks like a good ration of tomato to avocado pieces. I estimated 1 tomato piece for every 4 avocado pieces. Mince up some red onion and cilantro. I still haven’t looked up whether or not you’re supposed to use the whole cilantro stalk…but I do. Place all of the ingredients into a bowl.

Eye up the jalapeno. Realize you’ve never cooked with jalapeno before since you used to have terrible reactions to it when you were younger. Take a breath and decide if you really are over that sickness. Decide to cut it like a green pepper. Take of ends, remove seeds and cut into small pieces. There, that wasn’t so bad.

Roll the lime around for a while to crush all of the tasty juice pockets. Slice in half and juice over the bowl. Suck on lime guts because limes are sooooo tasty.

Mix and eat! It is much better if you let it sit for a while, the second time I made this (with my other two avocados) I made it in a container and then we took it to the beach for a picnic. Nom. The recipe also calls for oil, but I omitted it and I found the salad super delicious. It’s up to you. This one will definitely be making repeat appearances in our family.

Housekeeping. Because of the change in our grocery budget, I am not sure as to whether or not Au Courant Fare will be able to make its regular appearances. I can say this. If a post is titled ‘Au Courant Fare’ then it is new-to-me and follows the Au Courant rules. If a particular week does not merit an Au Courant Fare then I won’t post one. Perhaps I will toss in a cheap recipe of my own. I hope no one is disappointed, I’ve got to do what I’ve got to do.

8 responses to “Au Courant Fare

  1. lorajbanks says:

    Mmm looks good! But avocado is the pits. I kid, I love avocado, just not as much as I love puns. Nice post, and no pressure. We love your blog because of you…not just because of Au Courant Fare (even though we love that too).

  2. myhonestself says:

    I like cheap recipes!

  3. Carole says:

    Nice use of avocado. It would be super if you linked this post in to Food on Friday Series which is all about avocado this week.

Donate Your Two Cents

