coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

The Babysitting Plight

on May 31, 2012

This is how our last night went:

  • Momma rambles a bunch of gibberish that doesn’t really make any sense or have any point
  • Phil gleans that what she really needs is adult time and makes some mention of it
  • Momma gets over excited at 5:14pm and attempts to secure a babysitter for the night

Have I mentioned I’m 23? That means that all of my friends have no babies, and they still have things like ‘social lives’ that keeps them occupied. Have I also mentioned that I have no mother or sisters? That means that I have no access to free and frequent babysitting. Here is the text message I sent out:

“Anyone up for last minute babysitting? Tonight? I’m paying to escape insanity!”

Well, there weren’t any ‘yes’ replies, so we ended up staying in. Now, I’m not normally a last-minute type of gal. I mean, you can’t be when you’re a parent. Not really. #4 on the list of things parents should know before they’re parents: ‘Say goodbye to spontaneity, at least after bedtime and not during nap’.

I need to find a babysitter. Not a friend of mine, or a relative, but some responsible teenager who loves kids and wants to make a few extra bucks. Someone who strives for toddler speak, can handle the whine, and isn’t intimidated by our husky. Where am I supposed to find this??? I’m not about to look online for it (sorry internet, but you’re kind of creepy like that) and I don’t know what level of illegal it is to wait outside a highschool and start talking to the students. Hey little lady, you look like you looooove children. Can I get your phone number? In case I need you to come over some night…

Last night was amazing though. Phil decided that since we couldn’t go out that we should have a lovely time at home. He made usΒ a ‘beer and wings’ night, and we watched some of the hockey game, a little ‘music of the 90’s’ documentary, and then we jammed out on my guitar for a couple of hours. It was amazing!

32 responses to “The Babysitting Plight

  1. pamasaurus says:

    I have the same issues! Well, I’m older (29) and most of my friends have children… but I moved 5 hours away from my whole life for the hubster’s job. Now I’m back to NO family and NO friends. Such is life.

  2. stephicakes says:

    Those places like Care.com are not that creepy. there are background checks, references, etc. It might be MORE trustworthy than a local teen. That said, I used a babysitter exactly once so far, and it was a coworker’s daughter. Went well. Do you know anyone with a responsible teenaged daughter? Otherwise, do you attend a church? Do you know anyone whose kids go to an in-home daycare? You could ask that provider if they take drop ins or do date nights.

    • stephicakes says:

      PS- beer and wings night sounds awesome! I can never stay up much past bedtime these days, and even if I could, I don’t like my husband very much these days, lol.

      • Oh no! Hahaha. After bedtime is our time together, especially given that Phil works some nights, so we don’t even get to sleep at the same time some weeks. Some days we’ll split apart and do seperate things, but most days we’ll do ‘together’ things: play video games, watch a show, play card games, or some days we’ll just have a beer/wine/tea and talk. Those days are my favourite. πŸ˜€

        • stephicakes says:

          You are really making me miss my former good marriage! Hey, what video games do you like? I was thinking of starting one. I used to play Kingdom Hearts.

          • betsyk1 says:

            Pardon me for stepping in here on this conversation. Stephicakes, that makes me sad that you’re not enjoying your marriage anymore. Not that I have a magic fixer for that, but I do own a copy of “101 Tips for a Happier Marriage.” I really like it. In case you’re interested, it’s on-line here for only $5!: K&ProductID=736716. P.S. You gotta love the tqgline:

            • betsyk1 says:

              Sorry, I thought I had run out of room because I could no longer see what I was typing. The link is yucky long, but it’s: http://www.myruth.org/site/apps/ka/ec/product.asp?c=gpILKXOAJqG&b=5539911&en=dlJXKaPOKlJTI3PTIkLQL3PVKmI2IhPQIhKWJ6NSLrJ9JsK&ProductID=736716
              Adn the tagline is You can improve your marriage even if your spouse doesn’t change a bit ! Ha!

            • stephicakes says:

              I actually do love the tagline, lol. Ugh, self help books! But I could probably really benefit from something like that. It sucks because until maybe 8 months ago, I really felt like my marriage was awesome and just got better and better. I miss it! I think the biggest problem is our opposite schedules. But also it’s DH’s crabby pants attitude. 😦

              • 😦 aw! I find that a lack of time is #1 for making me grumpy. I love my kids, but they exhaust the snot out of me!

              • betsyk1 says:

                If it helps at all, it’s not really a book, but more of a booklet!! πŸ˜‰ Sounds like you and DH need to set some time to sit and talk together, “couch time.” It also sounds like he won’t necessarily be game for that, so I suggest making cheesecake or something for him to eat while you sit and talk. “sweeten the deal” and all. Maybe it would help to make a list of all the ways your marriage was so awesome before and then try to start implementing those things again. Maybe there is some way to get your schedules to match up better, or to have a plan of attack for how to take advantage of the time that you do have together. Since it’s slim, make sure you’re able to make the most of it. Sorry, I’m really not an expert, so forgive me for being all “Dear Abby” on you, but my heart bleeds for you. I want to try to help!

                • stephicakes says:

                  You’re so sweet. I actually don’t even know what’s broken, we just dont seem to enjoy our time together anymore. I think we might go to a counselor.
                  Sorry to hijack the comments!!!!

          • We play War in the North or Dance Central on the XBox, and we play Team Fortress 2, Killing Floor, or Counter Strike Source through the computer. πŸ˜€

    • No to the first and second ones, but the third one is a great idea! Also, I may try care.com then, background checks are very enticing. πŸ˜€ Thank you!

  3. kristencici says:

    Are you on Facebook? You can try old high school classmates that have children. I used the internet to find an amazing nanny that we loved. I also take advantage of my gym, which provides 2 hours of free childcare PER DAY. I got 3-4 times per week and it’s nice to have some me time working out.

    • Mmmm. Free childcare sounds amazing!
      I don’t use Facebook anymore, but either way none of my high school friends have children. I started really early with my motherhood and that kind of puts me at a disadvantage for the mommy-friends pool.

  4. sillyliss says:

    We put an ad on the college employment bulletin board. It’s online, it’s free. We asked for references and what their availability was like. We had really great luck with that.

    But your date night sounds pretty terrific anyhow!

  5. kebibarra says:

    I’m kinda with ya on this in the sense that the only person i leave my child with is my mom..Soooo if my mom isn’t avaiable Eric and I don’t go.( I have NO friend that I’ll be leaving my children—ok I have no friends period!) I’m always saying, man I wish I had a sister that had children (oh, and that she was a good mother to those children so i’d feel safe about leaving mine) lol. glad the night turned out awesome anyway!

    • Thanks! Yeah, I’m always thinking about how awesome it would be to have a mom or a sister that I could just leave my kids with. Not all the time, mind you, but for date nights or doctor’s appointments.

  6. betsyk1 says:

    That sounds like a great night. Way to improvise, hubbie! And if the “music of the 90s” included Pearl Jam, I would have been all over that!

  7. Aunt Jodi says:

    I saw on a tv show that a couple called the local highschool and got connected with teenage babysitters that way. Maybe it is worth a shot?

    I wish I lived closer/wasn’t so busy.

    • Well, I also don’t want to take advantage of my friends/family forever. I love when people can help me out, but it’s about time to find someone I can HIRE and then it’s a business transaction. πŸ™‚

  8. […] giveaway! Check out her blog: I think today it was powered by about seventeen cups of coffee and a babysitting dilemma. (Wait, no, it is me who was powered by about seventeen cups of coffee. My […]

  9. tdblue says:

    I totally get the baby sitter predicament. We have a great big family at home, but we live on the road. I’m surrounded by strangers all the time, so date night is what we make of it. Love the beer and wings date – too cute!

    • Thanks! It was amazing. I got a little heart burn from the wings, but I knew it was coming when I wanted something with a little zing! It will be one of my fondest memories to come. πŸ™‚

Donate Your Two Cents

