coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

That Time I Almost Featured Myself…

on May 26, 2012

This is what almost happened yesterday. Word for word. I was planning on cheating and being lazy at Au Courant Fare this week for the following excuses. After I didn’t get the reaction I was hoping for from my best friend when I mentioned that I would be cheating, I felt really guilty and I knew that I was letting myself down. Some challenge…two weeks in and I almost cheated. So I got my lazy buns up and hiked to the grocery store. The rest is repent-ative history!

This week I tried: cheated. We spent the long weekend working hard on the outside of the house, and then, once it was finished, we spent the rest of the time enjoying the outside of the house. During the renovations (there is now a full fence and gate, along with a new staircase from the porch down into the yard. Also, one vegetable garden (from me, special thanks to Uncle Eric for helping me fill it with dirt) and two flower gardens (special thanks to Aunt Heather and Great Aunt Trish for doing all of that) and a new hose, a pressure washed deck that looks almost new, a new patio set, and a new barbeque!) there was fast food for dinners and sandwiches for lunch, then after the renovations there was barbequedeverything. Soooooo I didn’t try any new recipes this week. For shame, I know. Nice challenge coffeepoweredmom! You lasted all of two weeks. Don’t rub it in.

So, what I DID do is purchase a bread maker at a garage sale and make yummy bread! I am featuring myself this week (I’ll try not to do that anymore, please send me links to recipes that are easy and awesome-face so I can keep up with my weekly challenge) because I followed the recipe for making white bread that was delicious, and then I started mixing it up to make delicious other breads.

White Bread

By Sanyo. For “The Bread Factory”. This is a basic recipe that you can then add on top of, it was also the first loaf I made with my new-to-me breadmaker.

In order, put: 2/3 cup water, 1 tablespoon of milk, 2 cups of bread flour (ahahaha, I use all purpose), 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1 tablespoon of margarine (straight out of the fridge…sorry ‘room temperature’), and 1 teaspoon of active dry yeast. Then you press start and it does its thing!

This is from the first batch I made, and then I also made some Pasta Fagioli to compliment it anda small tub of garlic butter, which is just some margarine with some seasoning in it. I believe I used garlic powder, parsley, oregano, and black pepper.

It was so good!

I have altered this recipe to make cinnamon raisin bread (add cinnamon and raisins), a garlic-y bread (add garlic powder, parsley, and parmesan cheese) and my favourite thus far: onion bread (add an entire minced onion). This one is my favourite because the acid or something from the onions makes the bread puff up to an enormous size and it is so fluffy and delicious. Onion bread was served with spaghetti and meatsauce one night, and it was delicious. Mouth-wateringly good.

I guessssssss my recommendation is to add minced onion to your normal bread recipe the next time you make it. Man, that’s lame.

HELP ME! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE recommend simple recipes to me for use in my cooking life. I want to make this feature exciting and awesome and onion bread, although delicious, is a lame feature. Help!

Although I will still accept help and recommendations I will no longer beg for it. This is a feature that I designed to challenge myself, not make up a bunch of wimpy excuses. I’m sorry and I will do better.PS You’re running out of time to vote for the most amazing picture in the Photo Challenge! Head over there now before it’s too late!

14 responses to “That Time I Almost Featured Myself…

  1. Eeks, I am not the best person to give advice on bread making. I even bought a bread maker but realized that 1) I don’t like the shape of the loaves that the bread maker makes, and 2) I could never get the texture down as good as the ones I buy at the farmers market or grocery. Props to you though for doing your thing! Your bread sounds delicious and makes me wish I was a bit more talented with bread 🙂

    • Our bread comes out denser that the store bread, although adding the onions made it quite fluffy and delicious. I think that, for the most part, store bought bread may make better sandwiches, but as a side to meals, or a cinnamon-raisin snack…amazing!!!

  2. lorajbanks says:

    Yay! You got a bread machine! Once you get the hang of it, it’s awesome for all bread-related purposes. I’ll still get you that one with the airbrushed picture of us high-fiving when I’m rich and famous (sorry, that means never.) Also, you should give this recipe a go. It’s great and one that I used to make all the time (to the point where Chris started asking me to stop) but it looks impressive and it’s super tasty. http://www.marthastewart.com/344014/ginger-chicken-peaches-and-onion?lnc=5a79cf380e1dd010VgnVCM1000005b09a00aRCRD&rsc=comments_food&comments_page=1rsc=comments_more#conversation-container

  3. I really like my bread machine, but don’t use it very much 😦

    My favorite thing is how you said, “for the following excuses”. So funny, and honest.

  4. myhonestself says:

    Ha! Don’t be so hard on yourself!! You still tried something new!!!! And you’ve still got next week!!!

    • I was really close to not trying anything new. Nothing quite like un-support from someone you really care about to kick your butt in gear. 😛 She didn’t say anything bad, she just didn’t back up my laziness like I had hoped she would. Instant motivation.

      • myhonestself says:

        I’ve got a pretty simple recipe. in fav

        • in fav? I’m not following, hahaha. Maybe it’s too late at night…

          • myhonestself says:

            Not too late at night, just my wonderful phone! It’s definitely not as nice to use as an actual computer! It should have said:
            In fact (not fav!) it doesn’t get any easier than this:
            Combine BBQ sauce and ranch dressing in a dish and then voila! You’ve got yourself what we call “Barba-Ranch!” it’s our new favourite on chicken wraps, as a dipping sauce, slapped on any BBQ’d meat, etc etc. because we too are in BBQ mode – I love less mess and I can make dinner while the kids play outside!

  5. jkossowan says:

    Our whole family loves this super easy soup: http://blogs.babble.com/family-kitchen/2011/03/01/spinach-tomato-orzo-soup/

    And this chicken and wild rice salad is one of my hubby’s very favourite served in pitas with lots of fresh lettuce: http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-chicken-wild-rice-salad-136457

    The other thing I make that is super easy is baked burritos. I take wholewheat tortilla shells, and put some low-sodium refried beans, shredded chicken, and a tiny bit of cheddar in each. Then I roll them up, place them tightly in a baking dish, cover them with a tomatillo sauce (sometimes just called “green sauce” – salsa works too), add another sprinkling of cheese, and bake. Delicious served with a mexican salad or veggies of some sort.

    🙂

  6. jkossowan says:

    Oh! And if you’re into the whole breakfast for dinner thing, this is delish and simple too: http://www.lottieanddoof.com/2011/04/baked-oatmeal/#more-6529

Donate Your Two Cents

