coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Dr. Seuss’ Worst Review

on May 14, 2012

My grandmother gave the girls a used Dr. Seuss book “Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You?”. It wasn’t in bad shape really, it was just used and we already had one. The exact same book. So I convinced the girls to donate it so that some ‘other boy or girl can have the book and enjoy it too’.

Due to the undergoing renovations, etc. in the house, I haven’t actually made a trip to the donation bin in…oh…six months, and therefore just have apile¬†beside my dryer. Pssh, whatever, don’t judge me, I bet I know you’ve got something sneaky going on in your basement too.

Then Edie ate the book. She ate Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You? five months after the kids got (and donated) the second copy from my grandmother, and two months after we got her. Edie. She has never chewed on any other books and the girls like to leave them all over the place, even though books are only allowed in the bedroom. So the first time she ate a book, any book, happened to be the book that I happened to have donated but not taken out of the house yet. So I replaced it. With the donated book.

Tough luck ‘other boy or girl’ who wanted to have the book to enjoy it too. Tough luck.

2 responses to “Dr. Seuss’ Worst Review

  1. lorajbanks says:

    Hahaha! The saddest part of that post is that half of our books end up in that condition, and we don’t have a dog. Incidentally, we do have an indestructible Caillou book that I wouldn’t mind “loaning” to Eddie if you know what I’m sayin’ sayin’…

Donate Your Two Cents

