coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Au Courant Fare

on May 11, 2012

au courant – in the current

fare – food; diet

Welcome to my new weekly feature! Every week I will challenge myself to try new recipes from around the interwebs. New, and easy recipes because my cooking skill is…subpar…and my energy level is minimum! My challenge is to try at least ONE new recipe each week, and to critique and photograph these creations. I will post this every Friday. Yay for challenges!

If you are featured on Au Courant Fare, then feel free to grab this badge: https://coffeepoweredmom.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/aucourantfarebadge.jpgΒ so you can put it in your sidebar and brag to all your friends!

This week (other than the delicious Mini Cheddar Biscuits we made) I tried:

Pasta Fagioli

The internet says it is pronounced fah-joh-lee.

This recipe comes from A Modern Christian Woman and her picture is so appetizing. I gave a quick scan of the ingredient list and determined I had everything. I bookmarked it and decided to make it in the future which turned out to be that very afternoon! Since I knew I was making soup I took the kids out on a nature walk even though it was a little cool and drizzly. Nothing quite like a good soup to warm you up after an overcast walk.

Now, let’s be honest here. I forgot to take a picture before I started eating it. Hence the soup ring of shame around my bowl. And hey! What’s that in the corner? Mini Cheddar Biscuits, yum! We dipped them in the soup – delish!

This soup was very easy to make, and only took 30 minutes from walk-in-the-kitchen to sit-at-the-table time. It will definitely be making a repeat appearance in our house!

I put a small pot of water on to boil, and also a large pot with a tablespoon of vegetable oil in it on medium to heat. I grabbed one onion, one stalk of celery, and half of this massive carrot and minced. Toss the minced veg into the large, warm, oil pot to saute and open cans. One can of tomato sauce and one can of mixed beans is what I used, I’ve got to be honest A Modern Christian Woman, I’ve never heard of ‘great northern beans’ so I just went with ye olde mixed. After the vegetables softened I poured in the tomato sauce, and then filled the can with water and threw that in too. I remembered incorrectly and put in one teaspoon of basil powder and one teaspoon of garlic powder. Then I read the recipe and added a teaspoon of black pepper. I left it on medium to flavour itself. Yum! When the water boiled during this process I tossed in one cup of elbow macaroni, since I did not have ditali, and 12 minutes later I poured it one top of the beans I already had in the strainer. She writes to add the pasta and beans to the soup after about 20 minutes of simmering, but since Phil wasn’t going to be home until 8 I left the macaroni and beans in the strainer seperately, and just spooned them into the bowls before the rest of soup went in. I also did not have parsley or parmesan, so you know!

Amazing. Amazing, amazing, amazing. This soup got rave reviews from everyone. I can’t believe how delicious it was. It’s making me hungry just typing about it. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Try it. Love it. Thank A Modern Christian Woman, or more specifically her grandmother.

12 responses to “Au Courant Fare

  1. sillyliss says:

    That sounds de-lish. I like this new spotlight.

  2. oregana says:

    I look forward to these food trials. I have a collection of my personal favorites on my blog. They are all created by me and have passed the rigorous reviews of family members who aren’t afraid to bash a dish and have been enjoyed for years and years. You might find something of interest there.

    http://wabbitat.wordpress.com/recipes/

    • Thanks! I’ll be sure to check it out since I’ll be looking for new recipes to try. πŸ˜€ My requirements are easy and foods I know how to cook properly. I’m not afraid to try new things, but if I have no idea what to do with it…hahaha!

      • oregana says:

        I am a spontaneous and impromptu cook. I put things together on the fly. If successful, I occasionally remember what I did and attempt to reproduce it. My favorites are generally made from leftovers the first time, and often subsequently, too.

        I am looking forward to watching you try new things and hopefully I will be inspired to try them, too.

        • Thank you! I love being able to read about new recipes, and even create some of my own. I may post some of my recipes here, but not under Au Courant Fare, because…they aren’t ‘in the current’ hahaha, they’re actually quite ‘from the past’.

  3. kristencici says:

    Yum! That looks delicious. Here’s a recipe I stumbled across on Pinterest, made, and now is a family favorite – http://weelicious.com/2011/06/28/red-beet-pancakes/ Good way to sneak beets into something kid-friendly πŸ™‚

  4. Aunt Jodi says:

    Tthis post made me hungry, and I wanted to make some Pasta Fagioli too… but I had barely any of the ingredients. I made mine with some canned tomato soup, left over spaghetti meat sauce (with ground chicken, pork and beef, carrots, celery, garlic, peppers and onion in an oregano tomato base sauce), frozen corn, and finely broken corn spaghetti noodles (the only kind of noodle with enough left in the package to ‘fill’ the soup pot).

    I topped mine with a dollop of sour cream, a sprinkle of grated cheddar cheese, and some fresh chopped chives from the garden.

    My soup was gluten free, only took about 20 minutes to make (25 if you count the 5 minutes I had to wait for it to cool before I could eat it) and was super tasty. Didn’t *quite* follow a recipe at all, but I loved it! πŸ™‚

    • That’s great! We loved it so much that we’ve already made a second dinner out of it. Well, made it a second time for a different dinner. Or something. AND had lunch leftovers from that second making-time-face-words…failing…yay!

      • Aunt Jodi says:

        When I made mine, I had it for dinner twice in one night (dinner around 5 and then big snack around 10 after studying all evening), and then had leftovers for lunch the next day πŸ™‚

        I need to go buy some more of everything so I can make it again. Also, I’m tempted to make a gluten free version of your cheddar biscuit cracker thing-a-ma-jigs…. but I keep getting discouraged because my oven doesn’t cook evenly, and I don’t want to have half a batch of cooked ones and half a batch of raw ones. I’m thinking that next time I go to my parents’ house I’ll suggest some family fun baking time as a means to commandeer the oven πŸ˜‰

Donate Your Two Cents

