coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Mini Cheddar Biscuits

on May 7, 2012

What were supposed to be crackers….

Want to know what we got up to yesterday? We made something in the kitchen. Why is this a big deal, you may wonder? It’s because I hate choosing for my kids to make messes. They make enough all by themselves that it irks me to choose to do something like that. I have been slowly becoming inspired by reading about other people’s happy-fun-adventure-times with their children to begin to think that I may be a little stuck up. Or with-stick-up-bum. So when I stumbled across this awesome post over at Mama. Papa. Bubba. I just had to try it. Had to, so much that I wrote out the ingredient list and bake temperature/times in my blog-notebook to encourage myself to try this in the future.

Lo and behold, yesterday offered the perfect opportunity! Phil was being all manly and fixing and drilling stuffs all over the place (yes, I’m severely underplaying the hard work he did, this is all about me  – goshdarnit!) so I thought ‘hey, kitchen-fun-times for snack!’ which turned out to be a great idea. The only faux pas I made was tackling this without access to the internet because I missed all of the small details and directions. Hence the name change. They are no longer ‘crackers’ but have been dubbed ‘mini cheddar biscuits’ because I didn’t roll them thin enough.

If you want crackers, then head over here to see the recipe before I touched it. If you want my recipe then stayed tuned. It’s a-coming.

 

Mini Cheddar Biscuits

  • 2 cups-ish of shredded cheese (let’s be honest, I didn’t measure. I cut about 6 inches off the brick. Tahdah.)
  • 8 tbsps vegetable oil (too cheap for olive)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp garlic powder (the recipe called for less and then also sea salt and cayenne, but I am le lazy and my kids don’t like spicy)
  • 1/4 cup warm water

Preheat oven to 350F. Place all of the ingredients into a mixer and mix. Form into a ball in your hands. Roll on a lightly floured surface. For crackers – 1/8 inch thick, for mini cheddar biscuits 1/4-1/2 inch thick.

Then use a ring that is supposed to hold all of your measuring cups together (or a cookie cutter…rebel) to cut biscuit shapes out of the dough. I have no cookie cutters. Not even small ones. She sent me this link to find awesome ones, and they are awesome but they cost monies, and from America…and I am from Canada…so…someone else should buy these for me. The star one is pretty awesome, jussayin’.

Place biscuits on a baking sheet! I used parchment paper under them because my baking sheets are of questionable quality, and one isn’t even a baking sheet really, so it has giant slits in it. So. Yeah.

I baked these mini cheddar biscuits for 16-18 minutes. I can’t remember which of the two it was. I put them in for 12 minutes, and they weren’t done, so I added 2 minutes, then another 2 minutes and (here’s where things get foggy) I can’t remember if I added another 2 minutes.

Can you see why I don’t bake?

This is them after 12 minutes. Then I forgot to take more pictures. Win. But they are DELICIOUS. At first bite, I was all ‘huh, well they’re bland’ but then they weren’t. I don’t know how to explain it, but they taste like a fantastically moist cheddar tea biscuit. Phil agreed that they tasted like biscuits and so the name was changed.

Ally shredded the cheese; Kira put the flour, oil, garlic powder, and water into the mixer; they both scraped the mixture off the sides of the bowl and into the beaters. Then they both got bored of the process and left while I rolled out the dough and cut the circles.

The Cole’s Notes are: I found a recipe, I forgot key points, I changed a few things, and the kids LOVE them. So I’ll make them again. Later.

Give it a try!!!

 

PS the giveaway closes in one day so remember to con your friends. You have 24 hours!

 

 

 

10 responses to “Mini Cheddar Biscuits

  1. sillyliss says:

    They look soooo yummy!

  2. jkossowan says:

    Oh my goodness – I LOVE this. You bake like I bake most of the time. Reading recipes is overrated, isn’t it? It’s much more fun to come up with a new name for your concoction once you see how it turns out anyways! Hahaha! Gotta love recipes that are flexible. 🙂

    They look delish, by the way!

    • Thanks! The kids love them (so do we adults) and I don’t know what it is about baking…I can’t seem to handle anything that requires *following* all of the directions. I like to add my own touch.

  3. Kim says:

    LOL… Next time that you forget how long your actually baked something, just post a picture and tell us to leave them in the oven until it looks “like this”

  4. Aunt Jodi says:

    om nom nom! I think I’m going to try to make these with gluten free flour 🙂 they look so tasty!

  5. oregana says:

    My kind of recipe!! I, too, own no cookie cutters. I only owned one in my life that I got free from Pillsbury. Yep, in the shape of the Pillsbury Doughboy. I used it once to make gingerbrea cookies. 🙂 My favorite cookie/biscuit cutters are actually coffee mugs. That’s only when I bother to shape them at all.

    Love your blog!

    • Thank you! I’ve used upside down glasses before to cut out circle shapes, but these needed to be smaller. I figured I’d use a tablespoon if I couldn’t find anything else, hahaha. I would *like* to own cookie cutters someday, I am just really, really cheap.

Donate Your Two Cents

