coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Mother In Law

on May 5, 2012

I have a theory about mother-in-laws. Or father-in-laws. The theory is this: everyone‘s parents are crazy. Period. But you get use to your parents crazy as you grow up with them. One day you fall in love and get married (hear the blue birds? So sweet) and suddenly you have more parents. And these parents are crazy too. But here’s the hard part. You’re not use to this kind of crazy. This is all so sudden and new. And your spouse? They’re not use to your parents crazy either. And that’s why in-laws are given such a bad rep.

I was knocked on my rear by this sickness these past few days. Just KO’d.

I was talking to my mother-in-law over BlackBerry Messenger (because we’re cool like that…it’s okay to be jealous) and when she discovered I was sick she immediately offered to bring me something.

Me: Oh no. Phil will be home by 8 so I can ask him to pick something up if I need it. The house is so embarrassing, we’ve dirtied all of the dishes and standing is exhausting, so I tried to order some family pack thing that we could have for lunch and dinner. I got all the way to the end before I realized they didn’t do debit for delivery! I cried on the phone to the girl! :S Poor girl! (word for word…I get a little delirious when I get sick. Also, I did cry on the phone. True story.)

MIL: Tell you what. I will leave work at 3:30 and come over and give you a hand until Phil comes home. It will give you a chance to rest. I can pick up dinner for you and it will be earlier than 8.

Me: But it’s a disaster here! It’s really the most disgusting that I have ever had a house ever. I know I’m a little messy, but this is gross. I’d be horrified.

MIL: I’m the closest you have to a mom right now so please don’t worry about it. I will see you shortly.

Me: Thanks mommy. 🙂 I think the kids will appreciate someone interacting with them.

MIL: I’m on my way with Chinese and soup for you.

No word of a lie. She came with Chinese and chicken noodle soup for me. It was delicious. It was the first thing that I ate in its entirety that stayed down. And to explain one of her comments, I don’t have a mommy. My mom left when I became pregnant with Ally. I haven’t seen her in almost four years and I haven’t spoken to her in almost two.

I tried to tidy before she showed up, but I was exhausted and dizzy and gave up. My mother-in-law showed up, fed the kids, fed me some soup, washed what must have been every dish in my house (God, I’m a pig), and threw on a load of laundry. Then she watched the kids while I napped, made me a tea, and stayed with us until Phil got home from work. I have never been more touched by a gesture from someone, someone who knows that without a mother I lose out on a lot of things that other people get. Like free babysitting. Talking about my vagina. And help when I’m really sick.

Things to remember to offer your kids as they grow up, folks. The lesson is here.

So, THANK YOU to an amazing woman and a beautiful gesture that I really really needed. Thank you for helping to fill a void that only a mother could.

8 responses to “Mother In Law

  1. jkossowan says:

    What a wonderful mother-in-law you have!

  2. So nice! Not just as a mother (in-law), but as a person.

  3. sillyliss says:

    This post was so sweet. I can’t even finish this comment because my heart is a puddle of goo right now and I have to go sweep it up.

  4. kebibarra says:

    How blessed you are to have a mother-in-law like that..mine secretly despises me- or at least she thinks it’s a secret.

Donate Your Two Cents

