coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Black Thumb

on April 26, 2012

Photo credit: unknown (It is several places in Google, none of which are credited)

Sidenote: I was looking for a picture of a frostbitten thumb to include and then say “Not that kind of black thumb, you sicko!” but then I grossed myself out looking at frostbitten body parts, and opted for this much friendlier inkpad-stamped thumb. So, you’re welcome, I guess.

 I have a black thumb. Hence the title. I love plants so much, but my best successes have been cacti and one yucca cane that I lovingly name Yucci. With naming creativity like that my kids are lucky they aren’t named Baybi, and Gurll.

I’m standing about halfway into the yard at this point. So, it’s twice as big as this.

When we moved into this house back in October, I really really really REALLY wanted to plant a vegetable garden like the one I had when I was a kid. I bought some indoor Jiffy pots that can be planted directly outside to biodegrade, and after a week of amazing weather, the kids and I planted our seeds in the pots. In March.

This tray has: (from left to right) green onions, beets, zucchini, carrots, and broccoli.

This tray has tomatoes.

These pictures were taken a mere five days after they were planted.

Now that it’s been a month, a lot of things have changed.

The biggest difference is…I killed the beets. They shrivelled up and died. We’ve also lost a lot of tomatoes, carrots, and broccoli as they each fight for nutrients and water. If the weather had stayed nice enough, then we could have planted them outside. Since that lovely week in March it has hailed and the frost has returned. It’s even snowed a little.

Go, Zucchini, go!

6 responses to “Black Thumb

  1. sillyliss says:

    These plants look amazing. What’s a color darker than black? Because according to your pictures and your assessment of your own black thumb, I’m wondering what color MY thumb is. I have grown one plant, ever. And I fed it coffee. It’s still on my desk at work… 🙂

  2. Aunt Jodi says:

    My dad is the opposite of a black thumb… Not even just a green thumb, he’s like a shining gold thumb with glitter and stickers on it. His specialty is Orchids. You can hand him a practically dead Orchid, and he will love it and care for it and spritz it with water until it is a beautiful flower again. (This process can take a few years, but without fail, my father has reincarnated ever single Orchid.)

    I, on the other hand, am a black thumb like you. Dad hired me to weed/plant the gardens at his business. A few weeks later he hired my sister to do the same thing because everything that I planted had died… *sigh* Now, I tend to lean toward plastic plants and floral scented air fresheners….

Donate Your Two Cents

