coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

In the mind…

on April 25, 2012

…of a 1 (almost 2) year old.

Kira is getting dressed in the morning when she starts making a sound like a squeaky door.

Mommy: What are you doing, babe?

Kira: Watcha me. I squeaky toy! (continues to squeak)

Photo from: http://pets.families.com/blog/best-dog-toy-ever

************

While eating dinner one night, Ally decides she’s a comedian.

Ally: Kira! (mock surprise and shock) I can hear your tummy growling! (bursts into laughter at her own hilarity)

Kira: Grrr-rrr-rrrrr! (makes growling noises, wins the comedy contest)

************

I put on a 15 minute episode of something, then lied down on the floor due to intense back pain. Kira is absorbed by the show for all of two minutes when she notices me lying on the ground.

Kira: (leaps off the couch at an astounding speed) Mommy, I need cuddle. (Proceeds to turn backwards and stretch her arms out like a plane until I pull he backwards to lie on top of me.)

Adorable, I know.

************

Every second day:

Kira: (pulls blanket over her head) I a ghost! Ooooooooh! (Laughs at herself)

or

Kira: (pulls a blanket up to her chin) I sleeping. (mock snoring)

17 responses to “In the mind…

  1. sillyliss says:

    LOL!!!!!! And awwww!

  2. Aunt Jodi says:

    I love when children think that they are the funniest comedian in the world and they laugh for HOURS at their “jokes” that aren’t really that funny. My 3 (almost 4) year old nephew ran around for an ENTIRE DAY on Easter weekend saying “I like HOOOOTTTTT DOOOOOOGGGGG” in a funny voice. He thought he was so funny. 🙂

  3. betsyk1 says:

    Super cute.
    Please share some coffee with me. I so feel like I need some today. This country is just too darn big sometimes!

  4. Sleeping Mom says:

    It’s hilarious when they think they’re the funniest person, or that they just made the most hilarious joke ever haha. So amazing how they just come up with that kind of stuff.

    • I tried to teach Ally what jokes were, and it ended with WEEKS of her saying “Knock, knock.” “Who’s there?” “(insert random noun here)” She didn’t understand that knock knock jokes were a kind of word play (my own fault for assuming she would) so she’d just slap in a word: chair, plate, curtain, fish and then giggle like a fiend about it.
      “That’s funny, Mommy. It’s a joke.”

Donate Your Two Cents

