coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

Treasure Hunting

on April 21, 2012

When I was a little girl my parents would often use a scavenger hunt or a treasure hunt during holidays to lead me to a present. This is one of my fondest memories of my childhood so back in March I began making these treasure hunts for Ally to do. I would tell the girls that it was for both of them, but at this stage the hunt is really only for Ally, Kira isn’t old enough to understand clues or searching really.

In March I purchased some plastic Easter eggs from our local Dollarama. Using small squares of paper I would draw a picture that showed where the next clue was, using an arrow to indicate where in or around that object it was. For example, I would draw a dresser with an arrow that showed if the arrow was beside, on top, or in the dresser; and which drawer the egg was in if it was. She loved it! Constantly asking me to make more and more hunts for her to follow.

After a break from making these hunts (really just to plan for and enjoy Easter) I wanted to offer her something different. Aunt Heather brought some paper cut outs that were leftover from a fundraiser she participated in, and I stumbled across them the other day. Some of these cutouts are foot-shaped and I decided to make a hunt using these. I wrote the lowercase letters of the alphabet on each of 26 feet and then taped them around the house.

I explained to Ally that she was to find all of the letters in the alphabet, starting at ‘a’ and that the big toe on each foot would point towards the next foot.

A toe pointing up meant straight ahead, and a toe pointing down meant behind her.

This is a picture of the ‘a’ foot and the ‘h’ foot that were taped to the side of our hutch. The ‘a’ foot directed her left, into the living room; when she got back to the ‘h’ foot it directed her behind herself, into the kitchen.

She was amazing at it, got caught at a couple of points where I had put two feet of different letters, and discovered her prize of a decorative box to hold her small toys and other play items.

 

 

8 responses to “Treasure Hunting

  1. sillyliss says:

    This is the most creative thing I have ever seen!

    • Thank you! I got the idea (a little bit) from SuperWhy. There is AlphaPig on the show and he will follow a trail that is made of the alphabet. Normally it’s paw prints, or sparkles, or bubbles but I thought the feet would do well, and instead of a straight line – why not add more challenge! And a prize. One mustn’t forget the prize.

  2. Sleeping Mom says:

    Very cool idea! I’ll have to try these, although I’ll probably stick to regular paper since I don’t know where I would find feet paper. I might try it this coming week!

    • We were just lucky that their Aunt Heather dropped off these paper cutouts, but I’m sure squares would work just as well! I’ve even considered using printer shapes, like flowers or stars, just to spice things up. If you do try this, I’d love to see how it turned out for you. Perhaps, with your permission, feature it on my blog?

  3. That’s just awesome!

Donate Your Two Cents

