coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

I’m a Play-Doh Tyrant

on April 20, 2012

It probably all began when I was a child. My family didn’t have a lot of money for things like Play-Doh, so the sets that we had were most likely gifts. That being said, the Play-Doh had to last a long time. That meant that the colours could not be mixed. I remember spending vast amounts of time carefully separating Play-Doh bits with my fingernails to try to salvage as much of each colour as possible.

So, when my kids got their hands on Play-Doh (which, I tried to keep out of my house…I guess no one got the memo) I was very careful to only give them one colour at a time. Eventually, more than one colour was opened and last time *gasp* two colours became mixed. It made me feel icky.

There are some (many) days that I need to step back and give my kids a little more freedom to, well, make their own colours.

Today, as an act of UN-tyrantism, I made a conscious decision to put out every piece of Play-Doh we own and let the kids go nuts.

And what do you know, it doesn’t seem to bother me anymore. I made a decision to put their fun and growth above my compulsions and obsessions. It was hard, but I hope it’s something I can carry into the future. I’m sure that there are quite a few more activities that I need to loosen up on.

Kira played Play-Doh for all of six minutes before she got bored and moved on. Ally, on the other hand, is making Cookie Monster a meal he is not likely to forget. I’ve heard cabbage rolls, noodles, beans, and blueberries so far. It’s good to see her grow and explore, especially since yesterday I registered her for kindergarten and I’m realizing that soon she’ll really BE a big girl, and not just my little girl that I praise with those words.

On the advice of the Parent’s Package I received yesterday, and with a little of my “my-kids-are-being-well-behaved” generosity, the girls each picked a wooden puzzle from the dollar store today. I know… my pockets are deep. Since I have to make an unexpected hike to the tax place again, I’ll be using them as bribes something to look forward to after the trip.

After all, why would you ever want to go back inside unless there was something awesome waiting for you?

 

 

5 responses to “I’m a Play-Doh Tyrant

  1. Sleeping Mom says:

    I also don’t like mixing colors; it makes it seem like the play doh can never be used again! But I let my toddler mix. I actualy just give him two or three at a time so that the play doh lasts longer, but I suppose that’s a trick to keep him from mixing every single color!

    • With all of the containers that were out on the table, neither one of them actually mixed any colours! I was a little shocked, but to make clean up easier next time, only putting out 3 different colours is a great idea!

  2. lorajbanks says:

    Are we twins? Was I misplaced at birth? Every time we do a craft at our house, I have to swallow my overbearing quest for perfection and remember…it’s fun, man. Relax.

    • Exactly! Argh, it’s so hard to just loosen up and let them enjoy themselves when all I want to do is keep things from exploding all over the place, or have the craft done CORRECTLY! I know that kids have to make their own mistakes, but honestly, tell my OCD that!

  3. […] This craft, while simple and fairly quick…encapsulated 25 of the most irritating minutes of my life!  I was literally sweating by the end of it…partially from the pain-in-the-butt-ness of it all, but mostly from the fighting-the-urge-to-scream-and-letting-this-be-fun-ness factor.  (You know what I’m talking about coffeepoweredmom!) […]

Donate Your Two Cents

