coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

No Small Feat

on April 11, 2012

Ever have one of those days?

Of course I only had two cups of coffee this morning, so something like this was bound to happen.

I don’t have a car. This means that during the week I only have access to stores and such if we walk there. That normally isn’t a problem but the weather for the last week has been cold, rainy, and a little miserable. Which means I’ve been avoiding piling Ally and Kira into my double stroller for the twenty minute hike to the grocery store. And then there’s the heavier twenty minutes back.

We’ve run out of apples. And then yesterday we ran out of grapefruit (my fridge informs me that there is no more fruit inside of it). Well I planned my lazy buns ALL day to make cabbage rolls for dinner, and at lunch I boiled the cabbage and have been letting it cool. As soon as it was done cooking I had a momentary panic where I thought “Have I used all of the tomato sauce?!?!” and then I scrambled to the cupboard to discover the one remaining can. I audibly sighed.

Kira went down for nap, Ally and I spent some quality time together, and once nap ended I prepared a snack and put on ye olde movie (The Care Bears – Enchanting Adventures, courtesy of Grandma and Grandpa for Easter) to give myself some undisturbed cabbage roll making time. I pulled all the ingredients out of the fridge, got a bowl, grabbed my lone can of tomato sauce from the counter and then opened the cupboard to get…

There’s no more rice.

At some point last week I finished the rice and I forgot that it was finished and that I couldn’t use it in my cabbage roll recipe.

So, the defrosted ground beef will be used for a lovely meat sauce tonight. With my last can of tomato sauce. And that cooked cabbage in the fridge is going to have to pray for good weather tomorrow so we can make the hike to the grocery store and purchase more rice. And more tomato sauce.

 

 

Donate Your Two Cents

