coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

THEY GOT MY THING!

on June 26, 2013

Have you ever been so shocked and happy about something that you just plain forget English and start driveling all over the house. That happened to me, just under an hour ago.

I had just put the kids down and sat down at my computer to prepare myself for another night of “estudio muchas Espanol” for school when I decided to check my email (boring blather), and then clicked on my bookmark for my OSAP application. OSAP, for those who don’t know, is the student financial assistance program here in Ontario. In other words, it’s where the money comes from these days. I sighed as I clicked on through and distinctly remember thinking (or saying out loud…shhhh) “Why do I do this to myself? Torture myself like this.”

Why would I say something so negative? Well, because OSAP and I ran into a little hiccup recently. Due to my full-time status, but my only 60% course load, my upcoming second calendar year is still only considered my first academic year by my school. OSAP saw YEAR ONE on a piece of paper, assumed I had failed at my first year, and was all “we ain’t gonna pay you if you’s a stoopid fail head. Wassup wid dis year one bs? You best be explainin’, son”.

I had to write a very detailed letter explaining that although my paperwork said year one, it was only because I am taking 60% of my course load each year, which means my courses for my second calendar year are still considered “first year courses”. I then snail mailed it to OSAP, and proceeded to wait impatiently. Now, the post around here is awesome. The speed at which OSAP processes the paperwork that they receive is much, much slower than my anxiety allows.

So, “Why do I do this to myself? Torture myself like this.”

And then the request for this letter was gone.

And my funding has been approved.

AND I NOW HAVE MONEY TO EXIST OFF OF FOR THE NEXT YEAR, WHICH I DEFINITELY DIDN’T HAVE TWO HOURS AGO!!!

jump for joy

This is fabulous news because we recently found out that we’re expecting our third. Surprise!

11 responses to “THEY GOT MY THING!

  1. Woohoo! Congratulations…on all fronts!! Muy bien, chica!

  2. lorajbanks says:

    Congratulations on everything! Yippee!

  3. myhonestself says:

    Whoa whoa whoa……I was thrilled for you right from the beginning. The whole OSAP ordeal, yah I get that! Been there, done that several times! I was already doing a happy dance for you and then you went and threw in baby news – I almost can’t handle this!!! I literally just ran downstairs and told my mom (who’s visiting today) “this girl who I know from the blog she writes just got her osap money AND found out she’s having a third baby isn’t that exciting??!!” of course her response was, “who is she??” haha…….CONGRATS!

  4. Rachel Wiley says:

    yay, congratulations!

  5. pamasaurus says:

    Congrats on the baby, again. I’m so excited for you!!! Also, WOO FOR MONEY!

  6. Whoa! Congratulations on it all! What a great day it must have been! And how exciting you’re expecting a third. :D

Donate Your Two Cents

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

