coffeepoweredmom

Getting through the day, one cup at a time.

May Update

on May 14, 2013

Hello Everyone! And anyone who is still reading this…..

It is May! Halfway through May, actually. I have been gone for a long time, and I will continue to be gone because HOLY CRUD I’m busy!

My first semester is finished! I had 2 midterms and 3 final exams, along with countless essays, but I have succeeded in passing (and beyond) everything! I’ve started my second semester already, and am already a little bit behind (yay, progress!) so I’ll have to keep this brief.

I don’t even know the last time that I posted, but Ally and I went to the dentist back in April for a check up, and she has super awesome teeth! I, on the other hand, have subpar teeth and have already had a cavity filled ($115) and have an appointment that is up and coming for another two cavities to be filled in one go ($230). Yay for poor hygeine! Seriously, kids, brush AND floss. God, I suck at flossing. Why would I include the cost for these fillings? Why, because I am SUPER without benefits, and this is the actual cost out of pocket for me because I was brushing my back teeth poorly. I suppose.

I have received financial aid for going to school and such, and therefore have budgeted for the entire year. WITHOUT extraordinary expenses, I will have $66.24 left in January of 2014. *crosses fingers for no extraordinary expenses*

Edie (our dog) has just recently been to the vet to have some bloodwork done ($45) that will okay her for heartworm, tick, and flea medication ($190) for this summer, that the vet’s office has been kind enough to call me and let me know that I can come pick up and pay for it at my earliest convenience.

In better (although not cheaper $$$) news, both girls are starting soccer soon (which involves the purchasing of bus tickets for the days that Phil takes the car to work with him), we are planning the kids’ birthday parties for this summer, planning on attending the annual fair that we always go to, and have reservations for a campsite for our family camping trip this summer!

I found out recently that my common-step-sister-in-law is newly pregnant. Yay! Also, *jealous*. True story.

Immediately, Ally is at school, Kira is napping, and I am making flour tortillas so that we can have tacos for dinner. Seriously. If you want to try them, here’s the recipe that I found on the interwebs: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Homemade-Tortillas

Other than my wrist hurting from using the rolling pin so much, they seem super tasty and easily roll-able. Wooooo!

I DO still think of you guys!

With love,

CPM

 

P.S. What happened to the Dashboard? Everything has changed!

12 responses to “May Update

  1. Jenn Goldsmith says:

    Glad to read an update! Miss you and good luck with everything you have on your plate!

  2. missed you, just the sight of your title makes me smile

  3. Thank you for the update. We do care! And way to go making tortillas from scratch. Go you!

  4. myhonestself says:

    Dashboard is SO different….I’m still not used to it although I’ve taken a bit of a leave of absence as well…..so many exciting things on your plate *yaaah!* oh except the dentist stuff, that isn’t fun! Turns out I was a pretty crummy brusher/flosser when I was younger and never ever went to the dentist regularly. It’s been about 2 years with lots and lots of work (and lots of money) but I think I’m finally caught up! Do you not have any student benefits that cover even a portion of the costs? Mine don’t cover much but it’s better than nothing!!

    • Unfortunately I don’t. Since I am taking every one of my courses online, AND since my university is based in a different province from the one that I reside, I’m on my own. Sigh.

      I’ve missed you! I hope everything has been going well with your family. :D

  5. pamasaurus says:

    Yay for an update!! Hopefully everything works out for you!

Donate Your Two Cents

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

